Choisissez votre plateforme et achetez
Essayez un mois gratuit avec 10 licences.
A quoi sert le compte?
Inscrivez-vous
loading

En cliquant sur "Inscrivez-vous", vous acceptez nos Conditions d’utilisation et vous reconnaissez avoir lu et accepter notre Politique de Confidentialité des données.

corporativelanding_depresion_social_picture
  • La dépression et le stress font-ils partie de votre vie?

  • Analysez l'état de vos capacités cognitives grâce à un test neurocognitif...

  • ... et évaluez les potentielles altérations neurocognitives. C'est parti!

loading

La stimulation neurocognitive pour aider à traiter la dépression

Vous pensez que vous entrez en dépression mais vous ne savez pas quoi faire? La stimulation neurocognitive proposée par CogniFit peut être une bonne aide complémentaire pour vous permettre de vaincre la dépression. Ce programme est validé scientifiquement et la communauté scientifique l'utilise chaque jour davantage.

Le programme de stimulation cérébrale de CogniFit pour la dépression est un traitement non pharmacologique qui permet de minimiser les symptômes de la dépression en favorisant une amélioration cognitive. En effet, la baisse de moral des personnes souffrant de dépression engendre des déficits neurocognitifs. Les déficits les plus communs sont : la mémoire, la concentration et l'attention.

Une étude récente a mis en lumière la présence d'altérations neurocognitives chez les patients dépressifs et chez les cas témoins. Les principaux déficits se trouvent au niveau de la mémoire, de l'inhibition, de l'attention partagée et des fonctions exécutives. Le programme CogniFit a été testé sur deux groupes (dépressifs et cas-témoins) durant huit semaines. Suite à cette période, l'efficacité de l'entraînement personnalisé de CogniFit a été démontrée. On a pu observer la réduction des symptômes dépressifs pour le groupe de personnes dépressives. Cet entraînement a permis une amélioration cognitive en plus d'une amélioration des fonctions exécutives. Ainsi, grâce à CogniFit, les patients ont pu créer de meilleures stratégies pour faire face aux symptômes dépressifs (rumination et manque de persévérance).

Les professionnels sont chaque jour plus nombreux à recommander notre programme de stimulation cognitive. En effet, en renforçant plusieurs capacités cérébrales, il est possible de réduire les symptômes dépressifs.

Les exercices cliniques proposés par CogniFit ont été conçus par une équipe de neurologues et psychologues qui ont étudié les symptômes de la dépression. Ils ont intégré leurs découvertes sur la structure cérébrale dans les différents tests visant à améliorer et renforcer la plasticité cérébrale et réduire les symptômes de la dépression. L'entraînement peut être réalisé 20 minutes par jour entre 2 à 3 fois par semaine.

Si elle n'est pas traitée correctement, la dépression peut conduire à des maladies plus graves et chroniques. Les programmes de stimulation cognitive de CogniFit agissent comme un parfait complément au traitement psychologique, en aidant à améliorer les zones cérébrales déficitaires.

Qu'est-ce que la dépression?

La dépression est un trouble de l'humeur fréquent dans notre société. Elle peut apparaître de façon chronique et empêcher le bon déroulement de la vie de la personne qui en souffre, que ce soit au travail ou dans la sphère personnelle ou familiale.

Le stress et les émotions négatives sont un terreau favorable à la dépression. En fonction des causes et de la gravité des symptômes, le traitement le plus recommandé est celui de la psychothérapie.

Afin de prévenir un état dépressif, il est recommandé de maintenir un équilibre dans sa routine quotidienne. Un mauvais sommeil, l'usage abusif des nouvelles technologies, des responsabilités professionnelles et familiales pesantes, les embouteillages quotidiens, etc. engendrent du stress et il est alors difficile de gérer sa résistance émotionelle. Dans certains cas, cela peut aboutir à une dépression.

CogniFit agit directement sur les problèmes qui peuvent causer la dépression, parmi lesquels se trouve la détérioration de certaines capacités cognitives (mémoire, concentration, attention). CogniFit aide à renforcer les réseaux de connexions neuronales impliquées dans les aspects cognitifs et agit comme parfait complément à une thérapie cognitive-comportementale.

Equilibre et dépression

Les causes de la dépression

Les facteurs pouvant contribuer à la dépression sont divers et nombreux. La prédisposition à souffrir ce trouble de l'humeur est différente pour chaque individu : un même évènement traumatique aura des conséquences émotionelles distinctes sur deux personnes différentes.

Certaines personnes peuvent avoir une prédisposition biologique à la dépression. En effet, dans certains cas, les antécédents familiaux dépressifs peuvent être un facteur de dépression. On parle alors de dépression génétique ou héréditaire. Soulignons toutefois que la dépression n'est pas une maladie génétique avec transmission obligatoire. D'autres facteurs (environnementaux, psychosociaux, etc.) sont en jeu.

Le stress et la dépression sont presque toujours associés. Une situation qui nous stresse, que ce soit un déménagement ou la perte d'un être cher, provoque des réactions et des changements physiques dans notre organisme (respiration agitée, augmentation du rythme cardiaque, etc.) S'ils sont récurrents, ces évènements peuvent engendrer un trouble dépressif.

Parmi les causes de la dépression, il est important de s'attarder sur les facteurs biochimiques et la personnalité. Un dérèglement au niveau des neurotransmetteurs, substances chimiques du cerveau, peut provoquer un déséquilibre de l'état émotionnel. La personnalité de l'individu a également une infuence directe sur le développement de la dépression. La perte de l'estime de soi, les pensées négatives, le fait d'être préoccupé, etc. interfèrent directement sur la capacité à affronter des situations de la vie quotidienne et cela dès le plus jeune âge. Ainsi, l' éducation reçue dès l'enfance et la façon dont on apprend à gérer sa frustration jouent un rôle important.

Symptômes de la dépression

Vous êtes-vous déjà demandé si vous souffriez de dépression? Comment savoir si vous êtes dépressif? Dans les moments de plénitude ou de satisfaction personnelle, nous nous posons rarement ce genre de questions car nos sensations physiques sont satisfaisantes. Nous commençons à nous questionner lorsque nos sensations physiques ne sont plus satisfaisantes. Par exemple : manque d'énergie pour faire les tâches quotidiennes, perte de libido, sensation d'inquiétude et de nervosité, réveils nocturnes ou sommeil excessif, douleurs de gorge, augmentation du rythme cardiaque, etc.

Il nous arrive à tous de nous sentir tristes, malheureux, abattus ou même misérables. Le trouble dépressif consiste en une intensification de ces sentiments durant plusieurs semaines ou plus, ainsi que la présence d'un profond sentiment de frustration et de colère.

Selon Pubmed Health, les symptômes de la dépression sont : "l'anxiété, l'agitation, l'inquiétude et l'irritabilité ; les changements drastiques d'appétit, qui se notent sous forme d'augmentation ou perte de poids ; les problèmes de concentration, la fatigue et manque d'énergie ; les sentiments de désespoir, d'impuissance et d'inutilité ; la haine de soi ; le sentiment de culpabilité ; la tendance à s'isoler ; la perte d'intérêt pour toute activité que nous aimions avant ; des idées de mort ou suicide et des problèmes pour dormir ou de sommeil excessif".

Comment savoir si vous souffrez de dépression? : Les symptômes dépressifs.

Les relations entre la dépression et le cerveau

Une des fonctions principales du cerveau est la régulation des émotions et des sentiments. Lorsque nous souffrons d'un état dépressif, notre cerveau continue d'être actif, mais il fonctionne différemment de lorsque nous nous sentons bien et heureux. Dans un état émotionnel stable notre cerveau utilise jusqu'à 20% de notre énergie. Lorsque nous sommes tristes, il en utilise encore davantage.

La dépression se manifeste par un déréglement chimique à l'intérieur du cerveau. Il s'agit d'une faille de neurotransmission lors de laquelle le bon fonctionnement de certains neurotransmetteurs comme la dopamine, l'ocytocine et la sérotonine est entravé. Pour mémoire, la sérotonine est un neurotransmetteur qui joue un rôle avéré dans la régulation de l'humeur et du sommeil.

La dépression et le cerveau

Les changement dans la structure cérébrale ont toujours été reliés à la dépression. Une étude de la dépression réalisée durant trois ans a montré que les patients souffrant de dépression présentent une réduction de la densité de matière grise de l'hippocampe, du cingulaire antérieur, de l'amygdale gauche et du cortex préfrontal droit. Les conséquences sur le cerveau sont moins importantes chez les patients qui ont souffert de dépression durant moins de trois ans que chez ceux qui continuent de souffrir de dépression après cette période.

La détérioration de la structure cérébrale est accompagnée d'une réduction des capacités cognitives. Le caractère et le degré de déficit cognitif varient d'un individu à l'autre, mais on observe généralement un ralentissement cognitif, une diminution de la vigilance, de la flexibilité et de l'attention soutenue et partagée. Les fonctions exécutives ou encore l'apprentissage verbal et la mémoire sont davantage préservés que la capacité d'attention.

Les différents types de dépression

Il existe de nombreuses classifications de la dépression. La classification du Manuel diagnostic et statistique des troubles mentaux (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorder, DSM-5) identifie trois types de dépression communes : la dépression majeure, la dysthymie et le trouble bipolaire.

  • La dépression majeure est une forme de dépression sévère dont les symptômes sont nombreux (humeur triste, irritabilité, troubles de l'appétit, perte du plaisir, pensées morbides, difficultés de concentration, etc.) et qui a des conséquences sur les activités quotidiennes de la personne. Les épisodes dépressifs durent au moins deux semaines. L'épisode peut survenir une seule fois dans la vie de la personne ou bien l'affecter plusieurs fois.
  • La dysthymie ou la dépression chronique, présente tous les symptômes d'une dépression majeure mais elle est moins intense et concerne une plus longue période de temps. Du fait de sa moindre intensité, elle ne limite pas les activités quotidiennes de la personne.
  • La dépression bipolaire est un trouble caractérisé par des états maniaques puis dépressifs, c'est-à-dire des états émotionnels extrêmes, hauts et bas. Ces extrêmes provoquent de grands changements d'humeur et une altération des mécanismes de l'humeur.

Traitement de la dépression

Du fait de la gravité des symptômes de la dépression, le patient doit suivre des séances de psychothérapie. Par ailleurs, afin d'aténuer la détérioration neurocognitive et neurophysiologique qu'engendre la dépression en plus de l'altération du fonctionnement quotidien et des fonctions psychosociales, elles-mêmes associées à la fonction cognitive, il est fortement recommandé de chercher des moyens de préserver cette dernière.

Dans ce contexte, les résultats d'une étude récente sur l'entraînement cognitif, réalisée par le Centre Psychiatrique de Prague en République Tchèque, suggèrent pour la première fois, que l'entraînement cognitif en ligne peut réduire la dépression et améliorer les habiletés cognitives de personnes souffrant de différents types de dépression.

Dans cette étude, les résultats d'un groupe de patients souffrant de dépression unipolaire ou bipolaire, soumis durant 8 semaines, trois fois par semaine, au programme d'entraînement cognitif en ligne de CogniFit ont été comparés à ceux d'un groupe de patients ayant reçu un traitement standard, c'est-à-dire sans entraînement cognitif. Les résultats démontrent une réduction claire des niveaux de dépression et d'anxiété pour le groupe qui s'est entraîné avec CogniFit. Par ailleurs, les patients du groupe de CogniFit ont à présent une meilleure qualité de vie (raisonnement et planification) et moins de lapsus de mémoire dans leurs activités quotidiennes.

Références

Godard J, Grondin S, Baruch P, Lafleur MF, Scupin I, Reiser M, Möller H, Meisenzahl EM. Perfiles psicosociales y neurocognitiva en pacientes depresivos con trastorno depresivo mayor y trastorno bipolar. Psychiatry Research, publicación electrónica antes julio 2011

Preiss M, Čermáková R, Cimermanová D. Rehabilitación en línea de las funciones cognitivas: las posibilidades del programa de CogniFit. Presentado en el 12 º Congreso Europeo de Psicología, Estambul, julio de 2011.

Frodl TS, N Koutsouleris, N Bottlender, C Born, M. Jäger Variación Relacionada Con La Depresión En La Morfología Del Cerebro De Más De 3 Años: ¿Efectos del estrés? Archives of General Psychiatry. 2008; 65 (10) :1156-1165

Haimov I, Shatil E (2013) Cognitive Training Improves Sleep Quality and Cognitive Function among Older Adults with Insomnia. PLoS ONE 8(4): e61390. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0061390

Evelyn Shatil, Jaroslava Mikulecká, Francesco Bellotti, Vladimír Burěs - Novel Television-Based Cognitive Training Improves Working Memory and Executive Function - PLoS ONE July 03, 2014. 10.1371/journal.pone.0101472

American Psychiatric Association. DSM-IV-TR Manual diagnóstico y estadístico de los trastornos mentales IV. Barcelona: Masson; 2003.

Veuillez entrer votre adresse email

Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software
Choose your platform and buy
Try if one month free of charge with 10 licenses.
What is the account for?
Sign Up!
loading

By clicking Sign Up or using CogniFit, you are indicating that you have read, understood, and agree to CogniFit's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

  • Do depression and stress form part of your life?

  • Analyze the state of your cognitive abilities with a neurocognitive test.

  • Evaluate the possible neurocognitive alterations. Give it a try!

loading

Neurocognitive Stimulation to Help Treat Depression

You think you may have depression, but what can you do about it? CogniFit's Neurocognitive stimulation program may be a useful complementary tool to help you overcome depression. This scientifically validated program is becoming more prevalent within the scientific community.

The brain stimulation program from CogniFit for combating depression is a non-pharmacological treatment that helps minimize the symptoms of depression. For someone with depression, constantly being sad can eventually cause some cognitive deficits in the brain. The most common cognitive deficits that cause the most problems are related to memory, concentration, and attention.

One of the most recent studies has proven that there are neurocognitive alterations between depressive and control patients. The main differences are in working memory, inhibition, divided attention, and executive functions. The CogniFit program was applied to both the depressive and control groups for eight weeks. After this period, the efficacy of the personalized CogniFit training program was verified. Depressive symptoms in the corresponding group had decreased, showing that this training not only improved cognitive functions, but also improved executive control, allowing for the patient to create better strategies to be able to face their depressive symptoms (reflection and perseverance).

More and more professionals are recommending training with our brain stimulation program because by improving different cognitive abilities, you may help reverse the symptoms of depression.

The clinical exercises that CogniFit uses were designed by a team of neurologists and psychologists who have investigated the symptoms that accompany depression. They applied new discoveries about brain structure and created many simple tasks aimed to improve and boost brain plasticity, and reduce the symptoms of depression. Training only takes about 20 minutes a day, 2 -3 times a week.

Depression may turn into more serious or chronic physical illnesses if it is not properly treated. The brain stimulation program from CogniFit acts as a perfect complement to a psychological treatment, helping improve the most deficient brain areas.

What is Depression?

Depression is a fairly common mood disorder.In some situations, depression and its symptoms may become chronic or recurring, impeding the successful development of a person's life, whether it be at work, at home, or in social environments.

The development and continuity of depression is produced by a combination of stress and persistent negative thoughts and feelings. Depending on the severity of the symptoms, the most highly recommended treatment is psychotherapy.

The best depression prevention is maintaining a balance in your daily routine. Sleeping poorly, using technology, work and familial responsibilities, sitting in traffic, and many other stimuli make expressing oneself and dealing with this stress essential. If they are not able to properly manage this everyday stress, it may turn into depression.

CogniFit works directly with the problems that depression may cause, specifically the cognitive aspects that may be deteriorated by depression like memory, concentration, and attention. CogniFit helps reinforce the neuronal connection networks used in cognitive abilities, and acts as a perfect complement to cognitive behavioral therapy.

Depression and Balance

Causes of Depression

What are some causes of depression? There isn't just one cause of depression, but various factors. The predisposition to suffer from a mood disorder is different in everyone, which means that the same traumatic event may affect two people differently.

One of the biggest risk factors of depression is genetic or hereditary, in which case the predisposition would be biological. This doesn't mean, however, that someone with depressive family members will have depression, as additional factors play a large role in this mood disorder (environmental, psychosocial…).

Stress and depression almost always go hand-in-hand. A stressful situation, from moving to the death of a loved one, causes physical reactions and changes in our body, like shortness of breath, increased heart rate, etc. Over a prolonged period of time, these changes may lead to a depressive state.

Biochemical and personality factors are two very important causes in the development of depression. A breakdown in the chemical substances in the brain, called neurotransmitters, cause an instability in a person's emotional state. Personality is a determining factor in the development of this disorder. Low self-esteem, negative thoughts, and tendencies to worry will interfere with one's ability to face situations in their life. From a very young age, we make thought patterns which can be either negative or positive. The key is based on upbringing and how someone has learned to handle frustration throughout their life.

Symptoms of Depression

Have you ever asked yourself if you have depression? If you have, how can you tell if you have it? These questions are related to mood. You probably never asked yourself if you had depression when you were doing well and excelling personally, because you were in a good mood and it reflects both psychically and mentally. However, the first reactions we have when we start to think about depression are physical reactions. These sensations are: less energy to do daily tasks, loss of sex drive, feeling restless and nervous, waking up at night or sleeping too much, sore throat, increased heart rate, and many, many more.

We all feel sad, unhappy, dejected, or even miserable sometimes. Major depressive disorder is an intensification of these symptoms that can last weeks or more. It is accompanied by a profound sense of loss, frustration, and anger.

According to Pubmed Health , symptoms of major depression can include some or all of the following: "agitation, restlessness, and irritability; dramatic change in appetite, often with weight gain or loss; significant concentration problems; fatigue and lack of energy; feelings of hopelessness and helplessness; feelings of worthlessness, self-hate, and guilt; the tendency to become withdrawn or isolated; loss of interest or pleasure in activities that were once enjoyed; thoughts of death or suicide and trouble sleeping or excessive sleeping".

How can you tell if you have depression?: Depression symptoms

Depression and the Brain

The brain is an organ that can be affected by emotions. When we are sad, dejected, or upset, our brain acts differently, and makes it very susceptible to the emotional changes that we are feeling. When we suffer from depressive states, our brain activates about seventy different cerebral regions (prefrontal cortex, anterior cingulate, temporal lobes, hippocampus…).

During a stable emotional state, our brain can use up to 20% of energy, but when we are sad, it uses much more. Depression is caused by a neurotransmission error, where neurotransmitters, like dopamine, oxytocin, and serotonin decrease their dosage in the brain. Tryptophan an amino acid that regulates serotonin, becomes incapacitated. Beacuse of this, we occasionally need foods that are rich in glucose to increase serotonin levels and improve our mood.

Depression and the Brain

Changes in brain structure have always been associated with depression. During a longitudinal study over the span of three years, we saw that, in comparison with the control subjects, the patients with depression showed a reduction in the gray material in the hippocampus, anterior cingulate cortex, left amygdala, and the right dorsomedial prefrontal cortex. Patients who remitted during the 3-year period had less volume decline than non-remitted patients in the left hippocampus, left anterior cingulum, left dorsomedial prefrontal cortex, and bilaterally in the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex.

The deterioration of the brain structure is accompanied by a decrease in cognitive function. In these cases, there is usually a cognitive slowing like the reduced abilities of flexibility, vigilance, and maintained and divided attention. It also appears that the types of depression and cognitive impairment are closely related to psychosocial functioning. Individual neurocognitive profiles differ in character and degree of cognitive deficit. Executive functions, such as verbal learning and memory, are better preserved than attention.

Types of Depression

There are many types and classifications of depression, but according to the Diagnostic and statistical Manual of Mental Disorder, DSM-5, there are a few more common types: major depression, dysthymia, and bipolar disorder.

  • Major depression is a severe type of depression that presents itself with many symptoms that impede the daily activities of the person who suffers. Depressive episodes last at least two weeks. In some cases, a person may only have one episode in their life, while others may have multiple.
  • Dysthymia or chronic depression has all of the symptoms of major depression, but is less intense. This type of depression does not limit the daily activities of the person, and it may last for a longer period of time.
  • Bipolar depression (Bipolar disorder) is a disorder characterized by manic and depressive states, or extreme emotional ups and downs. These extremes cause mood swings and a change in our mood mechanism.

Depression Treatment

The most severe symptoms of depression make it necessary for the person to seek psychotherapy. In addition, looking at the neurocognitive and neurophysiological deterioration that comes with depression, and the changes in daily and psychosocial functions, both of which are related to cognitive functions, it is advisable to seek methods to preserve said cognitive function.

The results from a recent study of cognitive training done in the Psychiatric Center of Prague in the Czech Republic, suggests for the first time that cognitive training may reduce depression and improve cognitive abilities in people with various types of depression.

In this study, the results of a group of patients with unipolar or bipolar depression, who trained three times a week for 8 weeks with CogniFit, a scientifically validated cognitive training program, were compared to the group of control patients who received standard care, but no cognitive training. The results indicate a clear reduction in the depression and anxiety levels in the group that trained with CogniFit, but not in the control group. The CogniFit group showed fewer mistakes in executive control (reasoning and planning), and less memory lapses in daily activities.

References

Godard J, Grondin S, Baruch P, Lafleur MF, Scupin I, Reiser M, Möller H, Meisenzahl EM. Psychosocial and neurocognitive profiles in depressed patients with major depressive disorder and bipolar disorder. Psychiatry Research; ahead e-publication July 2011

Preiss M, Čermáková R, Cimermanová D. Online rehabilitation of cognitive functions: the possibilities of the CogniFit program. Presented at the 12th European Congress of Psychology, Istanbul, July 2011.

Frodl TS, Koutsouleris N, Bottlender N, Born C, Jäger M. Depression-Related Variation in Brain Morphology Over 3 Years: Effects of Stress? Archives of General Psychiatry. 2008; 65(10):1156-1165

Haimov I, Shatil E (2013) Cognitive Training Improves Sleep Quality and Cognitive Function among Older Adults with Insomnia. PLoS ONE 8(4): e61390. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0061390

Evelyn Shatil, Jaroslava Mikulecká, Francesco Bellotti, Vladimír Burěs - Novel Television-Based Cognitive Training Improves Working Memory and Executive Function - PLoS ONE July 03, 2014. 10.1371/journal.pone.0101472

American Psychiatric Association. (2000). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-IV-TR. Washington, DC: Author.

Please type your email address