Über Cookies auf dieser Webseite

Diese Webseite verwendet Cookies, um die Online-Erfahrung zu verbessern. Wenn Sie diese Webseite weiterhin verwenden, ohne die Cookie-Präferenzen zu verändern, gehen wir davon aus, dass Sie unsere Cookie-Richtlinien akzeptieren. Wenn Sie weitere Informationen wünschen oder Ihre Cookie-Präferenzen verändern möchten, sehen Sie sich bitte unsere Cookie-Richtlinie an.

Annehmen
Wähle die entsprechende Plattform und kaufe
Probiere einen kostenlosen Monat mit 10 Lizenzen aus.
Wofür ist das Konto?
Willkommen bei CogniFit! Willkommen bei CogniFit für Forscher!

Du wirst ein persönliches Konto anlegen. Diese Art von Konto soll dir helfen, deine kognitiven Fähigkeiten zu bewerten und zu trainieren.

Du wirst ein Patientenverwaltungskonto anlegen. Dieser Bericht soll Angehörigen der Gesundheitsberufe (Ärzten, Psychologen...) bei der Diagnose und Behandlung kognitiver Störungen helfen.

Du wirst ein Familienkonto anlegen. Dieses Konto ermöglicht deinen Familienmitgliedern den Zugang zu CogniFit-Bewertungen und -Trainings.

Du wirst ein Forschungskonto anlegen. Dieses Konto wurde speziell entwickelt, um Forscher bei ihren Studien in kognitiven Bereichen zu unterstützen.

Du wirst ein Konto zur Verwaltung von Schülern anlegen. Dieses Konto soll bei der Diagnose und Intervention von kognitiven Störungen bei Kindern und Jugendlichen helfen.

loading

Für die eigene Nutzung (ab 16 Jahren). Kinder unter 16 Jahren können die CogniFit-Plattform für Familien verwenden.

Durch Nutzung der Software bzw. durch deine Registrierung, erklärst du, die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen, Impressum und Datenschutzrichtlinien von CogniFit gelesen sowie verstanden zu haben und anzuerkennen.

corporativelanding_STUDY-ITV-COGNITIVE-TRAINING-SENIORS_social_picture

Ein neuartiges fernsehbasiertes kognitives Training verbessert das Arbeitsgedächtnis und die exekutive Funktion.

Wissenschaftliche Publikation über kognitives Training mit iTV bei gesunden älteren Menschen.

Diese Seite ist rein informativ. Wir verkaufen keine Produkte zur Behandlung von Krankheiten. Die Produkte von CogniFit zur Behandlung von Krankheiten befinden sich derzeit in der Validierungsphase. Wenn du daran interessiert bist, besuche die CogniFit-Plattform für Forscher.
  • Bequemes Management der Patienten, die an den Studien teilnehmen, über die Plattform für Forscher.

  • Es können bis zu 23 kognitive Fähigkeiten der Studienteilnehmer bewertet und trainiert werden.

  • Überprüfe und vergleiche die kognitive Entwicklung der Teilnehmer und analysiere die Daten für deine Studie.

Jetzt beginnen
loading

Originaltitel: Novel television-based cognitive training improves working memory and executive function.

Autoren: Evelyn Shatil1,2,3, Jaroslava Mikulecká3, Francesco Bellotti4 y Vladimír Bures3.

  • 1. CogniFit Inc., New York, New York, United States of America.
  • 2. Department of Psychology and the Center for Psychobiologial Research, Max Stern Academic College of Emek Yezreel, Yezreel Valley, Israel.
  • 3. Faculty of Informatics and Management, University of Hradec Králové, Hradec Králové, Czech Republic.
  • 4. Department of Electrical, Electronic, Telecommunications Engineering and Naval Architecture, University of Genoa, Genoa, Italy.

Zeitschrift: Plos One (2014), Vol. 9 (7): 1-8.

Diesen Artikel zitieren (APA Format):

  • Shatil, E., Mikulecká, J., Bellotti, F., Bures, V. (2014). Novel television-based cognitive training improves working memory and executive function. Plos One, vol. 9 (7), pp.1-8.

Schlussfolgerungen der Studie

Das personalisierte kognitive Training von CogniFit konnte das Arbeitsgedächtnis und die Exekutivkontrolle bei gesunden älteren Menschen über interaktive Fernseher verbessern. . Die Gruppe, die mit CogniFit trainierte, zeigte eine bessere Leistung bei folgenden Tests: DSF (F=10.09), DSR (F=10.26), DSTotal (F=14.83), TMT-B (F=4.53) und TMT-Total (F=5.05).

Zusammenfassung der Studie

Das Ziel der Studie war, die Wirkung des kognitiven Trainings mithilfe interaktiver Fernseher (iTV) zu erforschen. Für diesen Zweck wurde die allgemeine kognitive Leistung von 119 gesunden, älteren Menschen zwischen 60 und 87 Jahren analysiert. Es wurden zwei Gruppen gebildet, wobei die Teilnehmer diesen Gruppen anhand der Single-Blind-Methode zugeordnet wurden: der Gruppe des kognitiven Trainings oder der aktiven Kontrollgruppe.

Die Versuchsgruppe führte das kognitive Training von CogniFit aus (angepasst an das iTV), während die Teilnehmer der Kontrollgruppe über iTV ein Programm mit nicht kognitiven Aktivitäten ausübten.

Nach dem Training konnte die Versuchsgruppe das Arbeitsgedächtnis und die exekutiven Funktionen im Unterschied zur Kontrollgruppe verbessern. Letztere konnte keine Verbesserungen erzielen. Bei keiner Gruppe gab es signifikative Unterschiede bei der subjektiven Wahrnehmung über die Zufriedenheit mit dem Leben.

Die Ergebnisse weisen darauf hin, das CogniFit für die Nutzer tatsächlich vorteilhaft sein kann und dass das iTV eine gute Alternative zu Computerprogrammen darstellt, wenn es sich um ältere Personen handelt, die nicht an die Verwendung von Computern gewöhnt sind oder sich keinen leisten können.

Kontext

Verschiedene kognitive Fähigkeiten werden mit zunehmendem Alter oft schwächer. Viele Studien bestätigen die Wirksamkeit eines computergestützten kognitiven Trainings, um älteren Menschen zu ermöglichen, ihre kognitiven Fähigkeiten zu bewahren. Leider tun sich viele ältere Menschen mit Internet und Computern schwer, doch sie können einen Fernseher problemlos handhaben.

Ein interaktiver Fernseher (iTV) ermöglicht es, Aktivitäten wie ein kognitives Training mit einem Gerät durchzuführen, das für ältere Menschen einfacher und bequemer zu verwenden ist als ein Computer.

Methodologie

Teilnehmer

Die Studienteilnehmer (ältere Menschen zwischen 60 und 87 Jahren) wurden über Anzeigen und Einladungen kontaktiert. Sie wurden informiert, dass sie an Aktivitäten zur Verbesserung der kognitiven Leistung teilnehmen würden und unterschrieben ihre Zustimmung. Teilnehmer, die beim MMSE (Mini-Mental-Status-Test) weniger als 27 Punkte erreichten oder eine korrigierte Sehfähigkeit von weniger als 20/40 aufwiesen, wurden ausgeschlossen. Zwar wussten die Forscher, welche Teinlnehmer welcher Gruppe angehörten, doch die Teilnehmer selbst waren darüber nicht informiert. Es wurden bei der Studie auch demographische und kognitive Daten berücksichtigt. Darüber hinaus wurde die Zufriedenheit mit dem Leben bewertet, um ausgeglichene Gruppen zu erhalten.

Vorgehensweise

Die Interventionsprogramme beider Gruppen wurden an die iTVs angepasst. Das Training dauerte 8 Wochen lang, wobei jeweils drei wöchentliche Sitzungen von je 20 minütiger Dauer durchgeführt wurden. In jeder Trainingssitzung wurden drei unterschiedliche Aktivitäten durchgeführt. Vor und nach dem Training wurde eine traditionelle kognitive Bewertung durchgeführt. Mit den Daten der Vor- und Nachtests wurden schließlich Vergleiche innerhalb jeder Gruppe und zwischen den beiden Gruppen angestellt.

Nach der Erfassung der wissenschaftlichen Daten können die Ergebnisse jedes Teilnehmers auf den Computer heruntergeladen werden, um sie zu analysieren.

Intervention bei der aktiven Kontrollgruppe

Die Teilnehmer der Kontrollgruppe übten in derselben Zeit mit drei nicht-kognitiven Applikationen. Diese waren:

  • Eine Familiengeschichte anhand von relevanten Lebensdaten, wie Geburt, Reisen oder Hochzeiten, zusammenstellen.
  • Persönliche Fotos digitalisieren, um einen Familienstammbaum zu erstellen.
  • Physische Übungen, die auf "Mind Jogging" aufbauten.

Vor- und Nachtest

Um die Ausgangsbasis (Vortest) und den kognitiven Zustand nach der Intervention (Nachtest) zu bewerten, wurden mit den Teilnehmern verschiedene Tests gemacht und sie mussten auch Fragebögen beantworten:

  • TONI-3 (Test of Non-verbal Intelligence, 3. Ausgabe). Mit diesem Test wird die nonverbale Intelligenz analysiert.
  • TMT (Trail Making Test). Mit Teil A und Teil B dieses Tests werden die exekutiven Funktionen und andere Fähigkeiten bewertet.
  • DS (Digit Span) direkt (DSF) und indirekt (DSR), um das Arbeitsgedächtnis zu beurteilen.
  • Wohlbenfindens-Index (Well-Being Index der Weltgesundheitsorganisation), der unter anderem benutzt wird, um eine Depression zu erkennen und das physische und psychologische Wohlbefinden zu bewerten.
  • Eine Punktbewertung der Bequemlichkeit der Nutzung von iTVs (iTV System Usability).

Statistische Analyse

Für die Datenanalyse wurde SPSS 17.0 verwendet. Um die demografischen und anfänglichen persönlichen Differenzen zwischen den beiden Gruppen herauszufinden, wurden T-Tests für unabhängige Stichproben und Chi-Quadrat Proben verwendet. Um die kognitiven Unterschiede zwischen den Gruppen zu messen, wurde ein Modell mit gemischten Effekten und wiederholten Messungen, sowie ein unabhängiges Modell für jede einzelne Variable verwendet. Damit konnten folgende Aspekte gemessen werden:

  • Anfängliche Unterschiede zwischen beiden Gruppen.
  • Unterschiede zwischen Vor- und Nachtest in jeder Gruppe.
  • Unterschiede zwischen beiden Gruppen.

Ergebnisse und Schlussfolgerungen

Die Resultate der Analyse zeigten, dass die beiden Gruppen am Anfang vergleichbar waren. Die Versuchsgruppe zeigte nach dem Training mit CogniFit eine statistisch signifikante Verbesserung beim Arbeitsgedächtnis und der exekutiven Kontrolle. Beim Vergleich des Vor- und Nachtests der Versuchsgruppe und der Kontrollgruppe, konnte die Gruppe, die mit CogniFit trainierte, eine bessere Leistung in den Tests DSF (F=10.09), DSR (F=10.26), DSTotal (F=14.83), TMT-B (F=4.53) und TMT-Total (F=5.05) erreichen.

Es konnte folglich beobachtet werden, dass die Versuchsgruppe, die mit dem personalisierten Trainingsprogramm von CogniFit trainierte, ihr Arbeitsgedächtnis und die exekutive Kontrolle verbessern konnte. Außerdem scheint das Format des Trainings (iTV) eine gute Alternative für das Training älterer Menschen zu sein. Aus den Daten geht hervor, dass das kognitive Training anhand von iTVs für diese Bevölkerungsgruppe möglich und bequem ist. Dies kann auf sozialer Ebene maßgeblich sein, denn so können mehr Menschen von den Vorteilen des kognitiven Trainings profitieren, was wiederum wichtige Konsequenzen hat.

Bitte E-Mail-Adresse eingeben

About Cookies on this site

This site uses Cookies to improve your online experience. By continuing to use this site without changing your cookie preferences we will assume that you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, or to change your cookie preferences, visit our cookie policy.

Accept
Choose your platform and buy
Try if one month free of charge with 10 licenses.
What is the account for?
Sign Up!

Confirm that the use of assessments and training is for yourselfYou are going to create a personal account. This type of account is specially designed to help you evaluate and train your cognitive skills

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for your patients. You are going to create a patient management account. This account is designed to give your patients access to CogniFit evaluations and training

Confirm that you want to offer training and/or cognitive assessments to your family or friends.You are going to create a family account. This account is designed to give your family members access to CogniFit evaluations and training.

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for research study participants.You are going to create a research account. This account is specially designed to help researchers with their studies in the cognitive areas.

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for your students.You are going to create a student management account. This account is designed to give your students access to CogniFit evaluations and training.

For users 16 years and older. Children under 16 can use CogniFit with a parent on one of the family platforms.

loading

By clicking Sign Up or using CogniFit, you are indicating that you have read, understood, and agree to CogniFit's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

corporativelanding_STUDY-ITV-COGNITIVE-TRAINING-SENIORS_social_picture

CogniFit has improved cognitive abilities of healthy seniors

Scientific publication on cognitive training in healthy elderly through iTVs.

This page is for information only. We do not sell any products that treat conditions. CogniFit's products to treat conditions are currently in validation process. If you are interested please visit CogniFit Research Platform
  • Conveniently manage research patients from the researcher's platform

  • Evaluate and train up to 23 cognitive skills for your study participants

  • Check and compare participants' cognitive development for your study data

Start Now
loading

Original Name: Novel television-based cognifitve training improves working memory and executive function.

Authors: Evelyn Shatil1,2,3, Jaroslava Mikulecká3, Francesco Bellotti4 y Vladimír Bures3.

  • 1. CogniFit Inc., New York, New York, United States of America.
  • 2. Department of Psychology and the Center for Psychobiologial Research, Max Stern Academic College of Emek Yezreel, Yezreel Valley, Israel.
  • 3. Faculty of Informatics and Management, University of Hradec Králové, Hradec Králové, Czech Republic.
  • 4. Department of Electrical, Electronic, Telecommunications Engineering and Naval Architecture, University of Genoa, Genoa, Italy.

Journal: Plos One (2014), vol. 9 (7): 1-8.

References to this article (APA style):

  • Shatil, E., Mikulecká, J., Bellotti, F., Bures, V. (2014). Novel television-based cognifitve training improves working memory and executive function. Plos One, vol. 9 (7), pp.1-8.

Conclusion

CogniFit personalized cognitive training has been able to improve working memory and executive control in healthy seniors through interactive televisions.. The group that worked with CogniFit showed better performance on the DSF (F=10.09), DSR (F=10.26), DSTotal (F=14.83), TMT-B (F=4.53) and TMT-Total (F=5.05) tests.

Study Summary

The aim of the study was investigate the effect of cognitive training through interactive televisions (iTV) on the overall cognitive performance of 119 healthy older adults aged 60 to 87 years. To this end, two groups were created to which they were randomly assigned through a single-blind model: the cognitive training group or the active control group.

CogniFitexperimental group conducted cognitive training through CogniFit (adapted for iTV), while active control group participants conducted a program of non-cognitive activities through iTV.

After the training, the experimental group improved its working memory and executive functions, unlike the control group, which showed no improvement. In neither of the two groups, there was a significant difference in subjective perception of life satisfaction.

The results indicate that CogniFit can generate real benefits for users, and that iTVs can be a good alternative to computer programs when older people do not have the proper handling with computers or cannot afford one.

Context

Diverse cognitive abilities tend to deteriorate with age. Many studies support the use of computerized cognitive training to maintain cognitive abilities in older people. Unfortunately, many older people are not familiar with resources such as the Internet and computers, although they are familiar with television use.

Interactive televisions (iTV) provide the possibility of performing activities such as cognitive training through a more familiar and comfortable environment for the elderly than the computer.

Methodology

Participants

Study participants (over 60 to 87 years old) were contacted by announcements and invitations. They were told that they would participate in activities to improve their cognitive status and signed the consent form. Participants who scored 27 on the MMSE or had corrected vision less than 20/40 were excluded. Although the researchers knew which participant belonged to which group, the participants themselves did not know which group they belonged to. Demographic, cognitive and life satisfaction data were also taken into account to match groups.

Procedure

The intervention programs of both groups were adapted to be compatible with the iTVs. The training lasted 8 weeks, with three weekly sessions of 20 minutes each. Each session consisted of three different activities. A traditional cognitive assessment was conducted before and after training. Finally, intra-group and inter-group comparisons were made with pretest and posttest data.

Once we have completed the data collection from the study, we will be able to download the results of each participant to our computer for analysis.

Intervention in the active control group

Participants in the control group were given three non-cognitive applications at the same time. The applications consisted of:

  • Recomposing family stories through relevant milestones in life, such as weddings, births or trips.
  • Digitize personal photographs to create a family tree.
  • Physical exercises based on "Mind Jogging."
.

Pre y Post Assessments

To measure the baseline (pretest) and cognitive status after interventions (postest), participants were given a series of tests and questionnaires:

  • TONI-3 (Test of non-verbal intelligence, third edition), which measures non-verbal intelligence.
  • TMT (Trail Making Test) part A and part B, which measures executive functions, among other capabilities.
  • DS (Digit Span) direct (DSF) and indirect (DSR), which measures working memory.
  • El World Health Organization (Well-being index), which is used to detect depression, and gives a subjective score about physical and psychological well-being.
  • A scale about usability of the iTV (iTV system usability).
.

Statistical Analysis

SPSS 17.0 was used to analyze the data. To determine the previous demographic and personal differences between the two groups, T-tests for independent samples and Chi-Square tests were applied. To measure cognitive differences between groups, a mixed-effects model of repeated measures was performed, with a separate model for each variable. All this made it possible to measure:

  • The initial differences between the two groups.
  • The differences between the Pretest and the Postest in each group.
  • The differences between both groups.

Results and conclusions

Analyses of the results showed that the groups were initially comparable. The experimental group showed a statistically significant improvement in working memory and executive control after training with CogniFit. In addition, when comparing the changes from pretest to postest of the experimental group with respect to the control group, the group that worked with CogniFit showed better performance in the DSF tests (F=10.09), DSR (F=10.26), DSTotal (F=14.83), TMT-B (F=4.53) and TMT-Total (F=5.05).

Therefore, it could be observed that the experimental group that conducted personalized cognitive training withCogniFit improved their working memory and executive control. In addition, the presentation format of the training (iTV) seems to be a good alternative for training older people. In this way, the data shows that cognitive training performed through an iTV is feasible and comfortable for this population. This can have great social implications, as we can expand the number of people who can benefit from cognitive training, with the important implications this can have.

Please type your email address