Choisissez votre plateforme et achetez
Essayez un mois gratuit avec 10 licences.
A quoi sert le compte?
Inscrivez-vous

Pour votre propre usage (à partir de 13 ans)

loading

En cliquant sur "Inscrivez-vous", vous acceptez nos Conditions d’utilisation et vous reconnaissez avoir lu et accepter notre Politique de Confidentialité des données.

corporativelanding_cognicion_social_picture
  • Accédez aux exercices cliniques de l'évaluation cognitive.

  • Stimulez votre plasticité cérébrale et cognition.

  • Aidez à renforcer votre état cognitif.

loading

Qu'est-ce que la cognition ? Signification et définition

Qu'est-ce que la cognition ? Le mot cognition vient du latin "cognoscere" signifie connaître. Par conséquent, quand nous faisons référence à la cognition, nous faisons référence à tout ce qui s'associe à la connaissance, c'est-à-dire le cumule d'informations que nous avons acquis grâce à l'apprentissage ou à notre expérience.

La meilleure définition de la cognition est la capacité que les être vivants ont pour traiter l'information à partir de la perception (stimulations que nous recevons du monde extérieur à travers les sens), la connaissance acquise avec l'expérience et nos caractéristiques subjectives qui nous permettent d'intégrer toute cette information pour valoriser et interpréter le monde. La cognition est donc l'habileté que nous avons pour assimiler et traiter les données qui nous parviennent via différentes voies (perception, expérience, croyances...) pour les convertir en connaissances. La cognition englobe plusieurs processus cognitifs comme l'apprentissage, l'attention, la mémoire, le langage, le raisonnement, la prise de décision , etc... qui font partie du développement intellectuel et de l'expérience.

Plusieurs disciplines ont abordé l'étude de la cognition, la neurologie, la psychologie, l'anthropologie, la philosophie et même les sciences de l'information. C'est la psychologie qui a été la première à étudier comment le traitement de l'information avait des influences sur la conduite et quelles relations avaient les différents processus mentaux sur l'acquisition de nos connaissances. La psychologie cognitive est apparue à la fin des années 50 comme opposition à la conduite imprudente de l'époque. Des auteurs comme Piaget et Vigotsky ont révolutionné le panorama scientifique grâce à leurs théories sur le développement et l'apprentissage cognitif, lesquelles restent d'actualité encore aujourd'hui. À partir des années 60, l'intérêt pour la cognition et les capacités cognitives a augmenté de manière considérable et le nombre de chercheurs qui se sont spécialisés dans ce domaine a permis d'augmenter les connaissances que nous possédons aujourd'hui sur ces sujets.

Aujourd'hui, les progrès en imagerie médicale nous permettent d'avoir une connaissance physiologique et neuroanatomique plus grande pour comprendre les processus mentaux et comment ces derniers influencent notre comportement et nos émotions.

Qu'est-ce que la cognition ?

Les processus cognitifs.

Comment définir les processus cognitifs ? Nous pouvons définir les processus cognitifs comme les processus que nous utilisons pour incorporer de nouvelles connaissances et prendre des décisions en fonction de celles-ci. Via ces processus interviennent plusieurs fonctions cognitives : la perception, l'attention, la mémoire, le raisonnement... Toutes ces fonctions cognitives travaillent conjointement pour intégrer la connaissance et créer une interprétation du monde qui nous entoure.

  • LA PERCEPTION COMME PROCESSUS COGNITIF : La perception cognitve nous permet d'organiser et de comprendre le monde à travers les stimulations que nous recevons via les sens. Nous pouvons recevoir des informations à travers les cinq sens comme la vue, l'ouïe, le goût, l'odorat et le toucher mais aussi d'autres sens moins connus comme la proprioception (le sens qui informe quant à la position corporelle, celui qui nous permet d'avoir un schéma corporel et savoir quelle position nous occupons dans l'espace) ou l'interoception (c'est la perception de comment se trouvent les organes de notre corps, qui nous permet de savoir quand nous avons faim ou soif). Une fois reçue, notre cerveau intègre toute l'information et crée de nouvelles connaissances.
  • L'ATTENTION COMME PROCESSUS COGNITIF : L' attention est un processus cognitif qui nous permet de nous concentrer sur une stimulation ou une activité pour ensuite pouvoir la traiter plus profondément dans notre conscience. L'attention est une fonction cognitive fondamentale pour le déroulement de la vie quotidienne et s'utilise pour la majorité de nos tâches quotidiennes. Elle est d'ailleurs considérée comme le mécanisme qui contrôle et régule le reste des processus cognitifs : depuis la perception (nous avons besoin de l'attention pour être prêt à recevoir les informations qui nous arrivent via les sens) à l'apprentissage ou au raisonnement complexe.
  • LA MÉMOIRE COMME PROCESSUS COGNITIF : La mémoire est la fonction cognitive qui permet de coder, stocker et récupérer l'information du passé. La mémoire est un processus de base pour l'apprentissage et c'est elle qui nous permet de nous créer une identité. Il existe de nombreux types et classes de mémoire, par exemple la mémoire à court-terme, qui fait référence à la capacité de retenir temporairement l'information dans notre esprit (se rappeler d'un numéro de téléphone dans notre tête jusqu'à ce que l'on puisse l'écrire sur un papier) et la mémoire à long-terme qui fait référence à l'ensemble des souvenirs et connaissances que nous emmagasinons durant très longtemps. Cette mémoire peut être divisée en mémoire déclarative, qui inclut autant les connaissances acquises via le langage et l'éducation (par exemple, que la guerre civile espagnole s'est terminée en 1939) que celles acquises via des expériences personnelles (se souvenir de ce que votre grand-mère vous cuisinait au village) ; ou encore la mémoire procédurale, qui fait référence à l'apprentissage de routine (apprendre à monter à vélo), la mémoire auditive, la mémoire contextuelle, la dénomination, la reconnaissance.
  • LA PENSÉE COMME PROCESSUS COGNITIF : La pensée est fondamentale pour tout processus cognitif. Elle permet d'intégrer toute l'information reçue et d'établir des relations entre les données qui la composent. Pour ce faire, elle utilise le raisonnement, la synthèse et la résolution de problèmes, c'est-à-dire les fonctions exécutives.
  • LE LANGAGE COMME PROCESSUS COGNITIF : Le langage est la capacité que nous avons pour exprimer nos pensées et sentiments à travers les mots. C'est un outil que nous utilisons pour nous communiquer et pour organiser et transmettre l'information que nous possédons nous concernant et sur le monde. Le langage et la pensée se développent de manière parallèle et sont intimement liés.
  • L'APPRENTISSAGE COMME PROCESSUS COGNITIF : C'est le processus cognitif à travers lequel nous incorporons une nouvelle information à notre connaissance préalable. Nous incluons à l'apprentissage des choses aussi diverses que l'apprentissage de la conduite ou des habitudes comme nous laver les dents, apprendre à marcher, aussi bien que toutes les connaissances que nous apprenons en nous sociabilisant et à l'école. Piaget ainsi que d'autres auteurs parlent de l'apprentissage cognitif comme le processus à travers lequel l'information entre dans le système cognitif et le modifie.
Les processus cognitifs

Les processus cognitifs peuvent être naturels ou artificiels, conscients ou inconscients, mais généralement ils sont très rapides et surviennent sans même que nous nous en rendions compte. Par exemple, lorsque nous marchons en ville et que nous voulons traverser la rue, si nous voyons que le feu est au rouge, nous commençons un processus cognitif qui nous conduira à prendre une décision (traverser ou non). La première chose que nous ferons sera de centrer notre attention sur le feu, grâce à la vue, nous verrons qu'il est au rouge. En seulement quelques millisecondes, nous récupérerons de notre mémoire qu'il ne faut pas traverser lorsque le feu est au rouge, mais aussi que lorsqu'il n'y a pas de voiture, nous avons pour habitude de le faire. À partir de là, nous prendrons notre première décision : ou nous attendons que le feu passe au vert ou nous regardons de chaque côté de la rue (utilisation à nouveau de l'attention) pour voir si des voitures passent ou si nous pouvons traverser en toute sécurité.

Pouvons-nous améliorer notre cognition ?

Pouvons-nous améliorer notre cognition ? Comment le faire ? Voici quelques outils et stratégies visant à améliorer votre cognition et votre rendement cognitif.

LE PROGRAMME DE STIMULATION COGNITIVE DE COGNIFIT: a été conçu par une équipe de neurologues et psychologues cognitifs qui étudient les processus de plasticité synaptique et la neurogenèse. Vous aurez besoin de seulement 15 minutes par jour (2 à 3 fois par semaine) pour stimuler les capacités et processus cognitifs, ce programme est disponible en ligne et est dirigé à un public varié : particuliers, chercheurs, professionnels du secteur de la santé et les écoles.

Les exercices cliniques de stimulation cognitive de CogniFit permettent d'évaluer de manière précise plus de 20 fonctions cognitives fondamentales, parfaitement définies et soumises à un contrôle de mesure objectif qui offre des résultats normalisés en âge et des critères démographiques sur la base milliers de personnes.

Les différents exercices intéractifs se présentent sous la forme de jeux amusants que vous pouvez réaliser sur votre ordinateur. Après chaque séance, CogniFit présentera un graphique détaillé avec l'évolution de l'état cognitif de l'utilisateur. Il permet également de comparer le rendement cognitif au reste des utilisateurs. Il a été démontré que l'ensemble des exercices cliniques en ligne de CogniFit favorise la création de nouvelles synapses et circuits de neurones capables de réorganiser et récupérer la fonction des zones cognitives les plus détériorées.

Nous savons que le cerveau peut changer sa structure et son fonctionnement. C'est ce que nous appelons la plasticité cérébrale ou la neuroplasticité. Grâce à cette dernière, nous pouvons améliorer nos capacités cognitives si nous sommes des personnes saines et les restaurer (ou maintenir) si celles-ci sont altérées par une lésion cérébrale (traumatisme, ictus…) ou une maladie neurologique (sclérose en plaques, maladie d'Alzheimer, détérioration cognitve…). La plasticité cérébrale nous permet de créer de nouvelles connexions cérébrales et d'augmenter les circuits de neurones, améliorant ainsi sa fonctionnalité.

La neuroscience et l'étude de la plasticité cérébrale nous ont appris que plus nous utilisons un circuit de neurones, plus fort il devient. Le programme de stimulation cognitive de CogniFit vise à observer nos processus cognitifs. Une fois qu'il a observé la situation cognitive de l'utilisateur, il offre un ensemble d'exercices cognitifs personnalisés. En nous concentrant sur les tâches qui nous causent le plus de problèmes et en nous proposant de nouveaux challenges cognitifs de manière continue, nous créerons et établirons de nouvelles connexions neuronales qui se renforceront.

Pouvons -nous améliorer notre cognition ?

RÉDUIRE NOTRE NIVEAU DE STRESS : peut également aider à améliorer notre cognition. Le stress augmente les niveaux de cortisol, lequel attaque la myéline des axones, ce qui empêche une transmission efficace de l'information . Réduire le stress, améliore la connexion synaptique. Maintenir une attitude positive nous rend plus créatif au moment de résoudre des problèmes et nous rend probablement plus flexible cognitivement.

LA MÉDITATION: peut également aider à améliorer notre cognition. Ces dernières annnées, le nombre de chercheurs étudiant les effets de la méditation sur les processus cognitifs a augmenté. La méditation demande de la concentration et une attention consciente, qui comme nous l'avons évoqué, a une grande capacité pour créer de nouveaux circuits fonctionnels. Le département de recherche semble soutenir cette idée et la méditation est à présent associée à l'attention, la mémoire, la fonction exécutive, la vitesse de traitement et la cognition en générale.

FAIRE DE L'EXERCICE PHYSIQUE: Faire de l'exercice améliore également notre cognition. Il n'est pas nécessaire que ce soit des activités très intenses. Marcher 45 minutes, 3 fois par semaine semble améliorer la mémoire et le raisonnement (fonctions exécutives) et la pratique du tai-chi semblerait améliorer principalement le fonctionnement exécutif.

CHANGER LE NOM

Références : Shatil E (2013). ¿El entrenamiento cognitivo y la actividad física combinados mejoran las capacidades cognitivas más que cada uno por separado? Un ensayo controlado de cuatro condiciones aleatorias entre adultos sanos. Front. Aging Neurosci. 5:8. doi: 10.3389/fnagi.2013.00008. • Korczyn dC, Peretz C, Aharonson V, et al. - El programa informático de entrenamiento cognitivo CogniFit produce una mejora mayor en el rendimiento cognitivo que los clásicos juegos de ordenador: Estudio prospectivo, aleatorizado, doble ciego de intervención en los ancianos. Alzheimer y Demencia: El diario de la Asociación de Alzheimer de 2007, tres (3): S171. • Shatil E, Korczyn dC, Peretzc C, et al. - Mejorar el rendimiento cognitivo en pacientes ancianos con entrenamiento cognitivo computarizado - El Alzheimer y a Demencia: El diario de la Asociación de Alzheimer de 2008, cuatro (4): T492. • Verghese J, J Mahoney, Ambrosio AF, Wang C, Holtzer R. - Efecto de la rehabilitación cognitiva en la marcha en personas mayores sedentarias - J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci. 2010 Dec;65(12):1338-43. • Evelyn Shatil, Jaroslava Mikulecká, Francesco Bellotti, Vladimír Burěs - Novel Television-Based Cognitive Training Improves Working Memory and Executive Function - PLoS ONE July 03, 2014. 10.1371/journal.pone.0101472. • Gard T, Hölzel BK, Lazar SW. The potential effects of meditation on age-related cognitive decline: a systematic review. Ann N Y Acad Sci. 2014 Jan; 1307:89-103. doi: 10.1111/nyas.12348. 2. • Voss MW et al. Plasticity of brain networks in a randomized intervention trial of exercise training in older adults. Front Aging Neurosci. 2010 Aug 26;2. pii: 32. doi: 10.3389/fnagi.2010.00032.

Veuillez entrer votre adresse email

Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software
Choose your platform and buy
Try if one month free of charge with 10 licenses.
Choose your platform
Sign Up!
loading

By clicking Sign Up or using CogniFit, you are indicating that you have read, understood, and agree to CogniFit's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

  • Get access to clinical cognitive assessment exercises

  • Boost your brain plasticity and cognition

  • Help improve your cognitive state

loading

What is Cognition? Meaning and Definition

What is cognition? The word comes from the Latin root cognoscere, which means “to know”. When we talk about cognition, we are usually referring to everything that is related to knowledge. In other words, the accumulation of information that we have acquired through learning or experience.

The most accepted definition of cognition is the ability to process information though perception (stimuli that we receive through our different senses), knowledge acquired through experience, and our subjective characteristics that allow us to integrate all of this information to evaluate and interpret our world. In other words, cognition is the ability that we have to assimilate and process the information that we receive from different sources (perception, experience, beliefs…) to convert them into knowledge. Cognition includes different cognitive processes, like learning, attention, memory, language, reasoning, decision making, etc., which form part of our intellectual development and experience.

Different disciplines have studied cognition, like neurology, psychology, anthropology, philosophy, and even information sciences. However, it was cognitive psychology that started to look into how processing information influences behavior and what relation different mental processes had in the acquisition of knowledge. Cognitive psychology emerged in the late 1950's as the opposition to the prevalent behaviorism of the time. Authors such as Piaget and Vigotsky revolutionized the scientific panorama with their theories about development and cognitive learning, which are still relevant today. Starting in the 60s, interest in cognition and cognitive skills grew exponentially, and the research that it generated allowed us to learn more about these processes.

Advancements in neuroimaging allow us to contribute physiological and neuroanatomical understanding to these studies, which are important for understanding mental processes and how they influence our behavior and emotions.

What is cognition

Cognitive Processes

What are cognitive processes? We can understand cognitive processes as the procedures we use to incorporate new knowledge and make decisions based on said knowledge. Different cognitive functions play a role in these processes: perception, attention, memory, reasoning… Each of these cognitive functions work together to integrate the new knowledge and create an interpretation of the world around us.

  • PERCEPTION AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Cognitive perception allows us to organize and understand the world through stimuli that we receive from our different senses, like sight, hearing, taste, smell, and touch. While most people are familiar with the common senses, there are some other, less-known senses, like propioception (stimuli which unconsciously perceives our position in space and judges spatial orientation) and interoception (which is the perception of our organs in our bodies. It is what allows us to know when we're hungry or thirsty). Once the stimuli is received, our brain integrates all of the information, creating a new memory.
  • ATTENTION AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Attention is the cognitive process that allows us to concentrate on a stimuli or activity in order to process it more thoroughly later. Attention is a fundamental cognitive function for the development of daily situations, and it is used in the majority of tasks that we carry-out day-to-day. In fact, it has been considered a mechanism that controls and regulates the rest of the cognitive processes: from perception (we need attention to be able to pay attention to the stimuli that don't reach our senses) to learning and complex reasoning.
  • MEMORY AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Memory is the cognitive function that allows us to code, store, and recover information from the past. Memory is a basic process for learning, as it is what allows us to create a sense of identity. There are many types of memory, like short-term memory, which is the ability to retain information for a short period of time (remember a telephone number until we can write it down on paper), and long-term memory, which are all of the memories that we keep for a long period of time. Long-term memory can be broken into smaller groups, declarative memory and procedural memory. Declarative memory consists of the knowledge that was acquired through language and education (like knowing that World War II ended in 1945), as well as knowledge learned through personal experiences (remembering what my grandma used to make for me). Procedural memory refers to learning though routines (learning how to drive or ride a bike). Other types of memory are auditory memory, contextual memory, naming, and recognition.
  • THOUGHT AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Thought is fundamental for all cognitive processes. It allows us to integrate all of the information that we've received and establish relationships between events and knowledge. To do this, it uses reasoning, synthesis, and problem solving (executive functions).
  • LANGUAGE AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Language is the ability to express our thoughts and feelings through spoken word. It is a tool that we use to communicate and organize and transmit information that we have about ourselves and the world. Language and thought are developed together and are closely related, they mutually influence each other.
  • LEARNING AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Learning is the cognitive process that we use to incorporate new information into our prior knowledge. Learning includes things as diverse as behaviors or habits, like brushing our teeth or learning how to walk, and knowledge that we learn through socialization. Piaget and other authors have talked about cognitive learning as the process of information entering our cognitive system and changing it.
Cognitive processes

The cognitive processes can occur naturally or artificially, or consciously or unconsciously, but it usually happens fast, they work constantly and without us realizing. For example, when we are walking on the street and we see a stoplight turn red, we start the cognitive process that tells us to make a decision (cross or don't cross). The first thing that we do is focus our attention on the stoplight, through sight we can see that it is red. In just milliseconds, we recall from our memory that when the stoplight is red you shouldn't cross; but we also remember that, sometimes, if there are no cars then we can cross. This is probably where we make our first decision: wait until the light turns green, or look right and left (shifting our attention again) to see if any cars are coming.

Can You Improve Cognition?

Is it possible to improve cognition? How? Below we will show a tool and strategy oriented to improve cognition and cognitive performance:

THE COGNITIVE STIMULATION PROGRAM FROM COGNIFIT: This program was designed by a team of neurologists and cognitive psychologists that study synaptic plasticity and neurogenesis processes. You only need 15 minutes a day (2-3 times a week) to stimulate your cognitive processes. This program is available online, and has programs specific for individuals, researchers, health professionals, and schools.

The cognitive stimulation exercises from CogniFit effectively assess more than 20 fundamental cognitive functions, which are clearly defined and subject to an objective target control, which provides standardized results of age and demographic criteria based on thousands of results.

The different interactive exercises are presented as fun brain games that you can practice on your computer. After each session, CogniFit will present a detailed picture, showing the evolution of the user's cognitive state. It also compares their cognitive performance to other users. It has been shown that the battery of online clinical exercises from CogniFit promotes the creation of new synapses and neural circuits that are able to reorganize and recover function in the most deteriorated cognitive areas.

We know that, with time, the brain can change its structure and functioning. This is what we call brain or neuroplasticity Because of this brain plasticity, we are able to improve our cognitive skills, and also restore (or maintain) them if our brain is affected by a brain trauma (brain trauma, stroke) or a neurological disease (Multiple Sclerosis, Alzheimer's, cognitive deterioration…). Brain plasticity allows us to create new brain connections and increase neural circuits, which ultimately improves their functionality.

If neuroscience and studying brain plasticity has shown us anything, it is that the more we use a neural circuit, the stronger it gets. The cognitive stimulation program from CogniFit works to explore our cognitive processes. Once we are able to understand each individual's cognitive state, we are offer them a personalized cognitive training program. Focusing on the most challenging tasks will ensure that we are creating and establishing new neural connections, which will get stronger and stronger the more that they are trained.

Can you improve cognition?

REDUCE STRESS LEVEL: Stress increases cortisol levels, which attacks the myelin of the axons and impedes information from being efficiently transmitted. If we are able to reduce the stress in our lives, we may be able to improve our cognition, because reducing stress improves synaptic connections. Keeping a positive attitude makes us more creative when solving problems, and probably makes us more cognitively flexible.

MEDITATION: Meditation can also help our cognition. In the last few years, more and more studies have been looking at the effects of meditation on cognitive processes. It requires concentration and conscious attention, which as we said, are important for creating new functional circuits. The study seems to support this idea, and meditation has been related to improvements in attention, memory, executive functions, processing speed, and general cognition.

PHYSICAL EXERCISE: Doing some exercise can also improve cognition. It doesn't need to be particularly intense activities. In fact, walking 45 minutes, 3 times a week seems to improve memory and reasoning (executive functions), and practicing Tai-Chi improves mainly executive functioning.

References: Shatil E (2013). Does combined cognitive training and physical activity training enhance cognitive abilities more than either alone? A four-condition randomized controlled trial among healthy older adults. Front. Aging Neurosci. 5:8. doi: 10.3389/fnagi.2013.00008 Korczyn AD, Peretz C, Aharonson V, et al. - Computer based cognitive training with CogniFit improved cognitive performance above the effect of classic computer games: prospective, randomized, double blind intervention study in the elderly. Alzheimer's & Dementia: The Journal of the Alzheimer's Association 2007; 3(3):S171. Shatil E, Korczyn AD, Peretzc C, et al. - Improving cognitive performance in elderly subjects using computerized cognitive training - Alzheimer's & Dementia: The Journal of the Alzheimer's Association 2008; 4(4):T492.Verghese J, Mahoney J, Ambrose AF, Wang C, Holtzer R. - Effect of cognitive remediation on gait in sedentary seniors - J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci. 2010 Dec;65(12):1338-43.Evelyn Shatil, Jaroslava Mikulecká, Francesco Bellotti, Vladimír Burěs - Novel Television-Based Cognitive Training Improves Working Memory and Executive Function - PLoS ONE July 03, 2014. 10.1371/journal.pone.0101472.Gard T, Hölzel BK, Lazar SW. The potential effects of meditation on age-related cognitive decline: a systematic review. Ann N Y Acad Sci. 2014 Jan; 1307:89-103. doi: 10.1111/nyas.12348. 2.Voss MW et al. Plasticity of brain networks in a randomized intervention trial of exercise training in older adults. Front Aging Neurosci. 2010 Aug 26;2. pii: 32. doi: 10.3389/fnagi.2010.00032.

Please type your email address