选择您的平台并购买
免费试用1个月获得10个访问权限。
选择创建账户目的
现在注册!
loading

点击登记或使用CogniFit, 则表示你已经阅读,理解并同意 CogniFit的 以及

corporativelanding_cognicion_social_picture
  • 获得临床认知评估的访问权限

  • 增强你的神经可塑性和认知能力

  • 帮助提高你的认知状态

loading

什么是认知能力?含义和定义

什么是认知?这个词来自拉丁词根 cognoscere,意思是“知道”。当我们谈论的认知,我们通常指的是与知识相关的一切。换句话说,我们已经通过学习和经验获得的资料的积累。

认知公认的定义是处理信息的能力,感觉(即我们通过不同的感官得到刺激),是获得知识的重要过程,而我们的主观特征,使我们能够整合所有这些信息分析和解释我们的世界。换句话说,认知是,我们对我们从不同的来源(感知,体验,信念......)接收到的信息吸收和处理,将它们转换成知识的能力。认知包括不同的认知过程,学习,注意力,记忆,语言,推理,决策等,形成我们的智力发展的重要部分。

从不同学科研究认知,如神经学,心理学,人类学,哲学,甚至是信息科学。然而,研究认知心理学如何处理信息对行为的影响和与不同心理过程中获取知识的关系。认知心理学是在1950年代后期出现的反对流行的行为主义的时间出现的。作家如Piaget和Vigotsky革命性的科学理论与他们的对认知学习研究理论,在今天仍然适用。从60年代开始,人们对研究认知能力越来越感兴趣,这就是我们有这么多研究结果的原因。

神经影像学的进步,有助于对神经解剖学的研究,有助于我们理解心理过程,以及它们是如何影响我们的行为和情绪的。

什么是认知?

认知过程

认知过程是什么?我们可以理解为我们要基于所有知识或掌握新的知识作出决策和理解的认知过程。不同的 认知功能 在这些进程中发挥不同作用︰ 感知、 注意、 记忆、 推理......每个这些认知功能共同努力,整合新的知识,创建对我们周围的世界解释。

  • 感知作为认知过程 认知知觉 允许我们组织和理解通我们不同的感官接收到的刺激,如视觉、 听觉、 味觉、 嗅觉和触觉。虽然大多数都熟悉的常识的,有一些其他,少为人知感觉,空间感 (不自觉地感觉到我们的位置在空间和空间定位的刺激) 和声乐 (这是我们在我们的身体的器官的感觉。它是什么可以让我们知道当我们饿了,或渴了)。一旦接收到刺激,我们的 大脑 集成所有的信息,创建一个新的记忆。
  • 注意力是认知过程︰ 注意力 是允许我们集中精力在认知过程或活动的刺激,以便更彻底地处理信息。注意是基本的认知功能,我们在日常生活中经常使用它。事实上,它被认为一种机制,控制并调节其余认知过程︰ 感知 (我们需要注意必须能够排除我们的感官接受到的刺激) 才能学习和复杂推理。
  • 记忆作为认知过程︰ 记忆是允许我们的处理,存储,和从过去中恢复信息的认知功能。记忆是学习的基本过程,因为它是使我们能够创认同感的能力。有许多类型的记忆,如 短期记忆,这是为保留短的时间内信息的能力 (记一个电话号码,直到我们可以把它写在纸上,) 和 长期记忆,这是所有我们保持为一长段时间的记忆。长期记忆可以被分解为更具体的、 陈述性记忆和程序性记忆。陈述性记忆包括通过语言和教育得到的信息 (比如,知道二战结束于 1945 年),获得的知识以及个人经验 获得的知识(记住我的祖母常给我做)。程序性记忆是指有学习例程 (学习如何开车或骑自行车)。其他类型的记忆是 听觉记忆 情景记忆 命名 识别
  • 思考是一种认知过程:思想是所有认知过程的基础。它使我们能够整合所有的已经收到的信息,并建立事件与知识之间的关系。要做到这一点,它要使用的推理,综合,和解决问题(行政职能)能力。
  • 语言认知的过程:语言就是通过口头来表达我们的思想和感情的能力。这是我们用来沟通,组织和传递,我们有我们自己和世界的信息的工具。语言和思维是密切相关的,它们相互影响,共同发展。
  • 学习被当作一种认知过程:学习是我们用来把新的信息结合我们的现有知识的认知过程。学习包括不同的东西等,我们通过学习养成社会行为或习惯,像刷牙或走路,和记忆知识。Piaget和其他作家都谈到学习是我们的认知系统接受处理信息的过程。
认知过程

认知过程可以自然或人为,自觉或不自觉地发生,但它通常会发发展的很快,不断地想提高却没有实现愿望。例如,当我们走在街道上,我们看到交通灯变成红色的,我们开始产生认知过程,它告诉我们怎么做(通过或不通过)。我们做的第一件事就是集中我们的注意力在交通灯,通过视觉可以看出,它是红色的。在几毫秒间,我们就从我们的记忆中得出信息,当交通灯是红的,你不应该通过; 但是我们也记得,有时,如果没有汽车那么我们可以通过。这使我们得到一个决定:等到灯变绿通过,或左顾右盼(再次转移我们的注意力),看是否有车来了,没有车时通过。

认知能力可以提高吗?

认知是有可能改善的?怎么样改善呢?下面我们将为你们展示一个提高和改善认知能力的工具:

CogniFit的认知刺激程序: 是由一组神经学家和认知心理学家研究学习突触的可塑性和神经发展的过程而设计的。你只需要(每周2-3次),每次15分钟,就可以刺激你的认知过程。:该程序可以在线使用,然后有针对个人,研究人员,卫生专业人员和学校的具体计划。

CogniFit的认知刺激练习有效评估超过20个基本的认知功能,根据目标准确测试并提供了不同年龄标准水平,并根据结果对比标准水平。

不同的互动练习以益智游戏的方式出现,你可以在电脑上练习。每次训练后,CogniFit将出示一个详细的图片,显示用户的认知状态的演变及与其他用户认知功能的比较。据显示,CogniFit在线临床练习促进了新的突触和神经电路的重组并可以恢复恶化的认知领域的认知功能。

我们知道,随着时间的推移,大脑可以改变它的结构和运作方式。这是我们称之为 大脑或神经可塑性 大脑的可塑性,也称作神经可塑性,我们就能够提高认知的能力,和恢复 (或维护) 他们,如果我们的大脑受 脑外伤 (脑外伤、 中风) 或一种神经系统疾病 (多发性硬化症、 阿尔茨海默氏症引起认知衰退...)。大脑的可塑性使我们能够创建新的大脑连接并增加神经回路,最终提高它们的功能。

神经科学和大脑的可塑性的研究已经向我们表明了,越多的使用神经回路大脑的神经回路就越强。CogniFit的认知刺激计划有助于探索我们的认知过程。只有我们理解了每个人的认知状态,才能为他们提供个性化的认知训练计划。着眼于最具挑战性的任务,确保我们正在创造和建立新的神经连接,由于训练的缘故,大脑会越来越强壮。

你能改善你的认知水平吗?

减轻压力水平: 应力增加皮质醇水平,而攻击轴突与髓鞘阻碍有效地传递信息。如果我们能够减少我们生活中的压力,我们也许能够改善我们的认知,因为减轻压力提高突触连接。保持积极的态度,使我们在解决问题的时候更有创造性,使我们思维更加灵活。

沉思:冥想也可以帮助我们改善我们的认知。在过去的几年中,越来越多的人研究冥想对认知过程的影响。因为它需要有意识的集中和关注一个任务,正如我们所说的,是创造新的神经网络连接的重要技能。这项研究证明了冥想涉及到注意力,记忆力,执行功能,加快反应速度,和对一般认知功能的改善。

身体运动量:做一些可以改善认知的运动。并不需要是特别激烈的运动。事实上,每周步行3次每次45分钟,就可以提高记忆力和推理能力(行政职能),练太极拳也可以改善主要执行功能。

参考文献: Shatil E (2013). Does combined cognitive training and physical activity training enhance cognitive abilities more than either alone? A four-condition randomized controlled trial among healthy older adults. Front. Aging Neurosci. 5:8. doi: 10.3389/fnagi.2013.00008 Korczyn AD, Peretz C, Aharonson V, et al. - Computer based cognitive training with CogniFit improved cognitive performance above the effect of classic computer games: prospective, randomized, double blind intervention study in the elderly. Alzheimer's & Dementia: The Journal of the Alzheimer's Association 2007; 3(3):S171. Shatil E, Korczyn AD, Peretzc C, et al. - Improving cognitive performance in elderly subjects using computerized cognitive training - Alzheimer's & Dementia: The Journal of the Alzheimer's Association 2008; 4(4):T492.Verghese J, Mahoney J, Ambrose AF, Wang C, Holtzer R. - Effect of cognitive remediation on gait in sedentary seniors - J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci. 2010 Dec;65(12):1338-43.Evelyn Shatil, Jaroslava Mikulecká, Francesco Bellotti, Vladimír Burěs - Novel Television-Based Cognitive Training Improves Working Memory and Executive Function - PLoS ONE July 03, 2014. 10.1371/journal.pone.0101472.Gard T, Hölzel BK, Lazar SW. The potential effects of meditation on age-related cognitive decline: a systematic review. Ann N Y Acad Sci. 2014 Jan; 1307:89-103. doi: 10.1111/nyas.12348. 2.Voss MW et al. Plasticity of brain networks in a randomized intervention trial of exercise training in older adults. Front Aging Neurosci. 2010 Aug 26;2. pii: 32. doi: 10.3389/fnagi.2010.00032.

请输入你的电子邮件地址

Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software
Choose your platform and buy
Try if one month free of charge with 10 licenses.
Choose your platform
Sign Up!
loading

By clicking Sign Up or using CogniFit, you are indicating that you have read, understood, and agree to CogniFit's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

  • Get access to clinical cognitive assessment exercises

  • Boost your brain plasticity and cognition

  • Help improve your cognitive state

loading

What is Cognition? Meaning and Definition

What is cognition? The word comes from the Latin root cognoscere, which means “to know”. When we talk about cognition, we are usually referring to everything that is related to knowledge. In other words, the accumulation of information that we have acquired through learning or experience.

The most accepted definition of cognition is the ability to process information though perception (stimuli that we receive through our different senses), knowledge acquired through experience, and our subjective characteristics that allow us to integrate all of this information to evaluate and interpret our world. In other words, cognition is the ability that we have to assimilate and process the information that we receive from different sources (perception, experience, beliefs…) to convert them into knowledge. Cognition includes different cognitive processes, like learning, attention, memory, language, reasoning, decision making, etc., which form part of our intellectual development and experience.

Different disciplines have studied cognition, like neurology, psychology, anthropology, philosophy, and even information sciences. However, it was cognitive psychology that started to look into how processing information influences behavior and what relation different mental processes had in the acquisition of knowledge. Cognitive psychology emerged in the late 1950's as the opposition to the prevalent behaviorism of the time. Authors such as Piaget and Vigotsky revolutionized the scientific panorama with their theories about development and cognitive learning, which are still relevant today. Starting in the 60s, interest in cognition and cognitive skills grew exponentially, and the research that it generated allowed us to learn more about these processes.

Advancements in neuroimaging allow us to contribute physiological and neuroanatomical understanding to these studies, which are important for understanding mental processes and how they influence our behavior and emotions.

What is cognition

Cognitive Processes

What are cognitive processes? We can understand cognitive processes as the procedures we use to incorporate new knowledge and make decisions based on said knowledge. Different cognitive functions play a role in these processes: perception, attention, memory, reasoning… Each of these cognitive functions work together to integrate the new knowledge and create an interpretation of the world around us.

  • PERCEPTION AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Cognitive perception allows us to organize and understand the world through stimuli that we receive from our different senses, like sight, hearing, taste, smell, and touch. While most people are familiar with the common senses, there are some other, less-known senses, like propioception (stimuli which unconsciously perceives our position in space and judges spatial orientation) and interoception (which is the perception of our organs in our bodies. It is what allows us to know when we're hungry or thirsty). Once the stimuli is received, our brain integrates all of the information, creating a new memory.
  • ATTENTION AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Attention is the cognitive process that allows us to concentrate on a stimuli or activity in order to process it more thoroughly later. Attention is a fundamental cognitive function for the development of daily situations, and it is used in the majority of tasks that we carry-out day-to-day. In fact, it has been considered a mechanism that controls and regulates the rest of the cognitive processes: from perception (we need attention to be able to pay attention to the stimuli that don't reach our senses) to learning and complex reasoning.
  • MEMORY AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Memory is the cognitive function that allows us to code, store, and recover information from the past. Memory is a basic process for learning, as it is what allows us to create a sense of identity. There are many types of memory, like short-term memory, which is the ability to retain information for a short period of time (remember a telephone number until we can write it down on paper), and long-term memory, which are all of the memories that we keep for a long period of time. Long-term memory can be broken into smaller groups, declarative memory and procedural memory. Declarative memory consists of the knowledge that was acquired through language and education (like knowing that World War II ended in 1945), as well as knowledge learned through personal experiences (remembering what my grandma used to make for me). Procedural memory refers to learning though routines (learning how to drive or ride a bike). Other types of memory are auditory memory, contextual memory, naming, and recognition.
  • THOUGHT AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Thought is fundamental for all cognitive processes. It allows us to integrate all of the information that we've received and establish relationships between events and knowledge. To do this, it uses reasoning, synthesis, and problem solving (executive functions).
  • LANGUAGE AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Language is the ability to express our thoughts and feelings through spoken word. It is a tool that we use to communicate and organize and transmit information that we have about ourselves and the world. Language and thought are developed together and are closely related, they mutually influence each other.
  • LEARNING AS A COGNITIVE PROCESS: Learning is the cognitive process that we use to incorporate new information into our prior knowledge. Learning includes things as diverse as behaviors or habits, like brushing our teeth or learning how to walk, and knowledge that we learn through socialization. Piaget and other authors have talked about cognitive learning as the process of information entering our cognitive system and changing it.
Cognitive processes

The cognitive processes can occur naturally or artificially, or consciously or unconsciously, but it usually happens fast, they work constantly and without us realizing. For example, when we are walking on the street and we see a stoplight turn red, we start the cognitive process that tells us to make a decision (cross or don't cross). The first thing that we do is focus our attention on the stoplight, through sight we can see that it is red. In just milliseconds, we recall from our memory that when the stoplight is red you shouldn't cross; but we also remember that, sometimes, if there are no cars then we can cross. This is probably where we make our first decision: wait until the light turns green, or look right and left (shifting our attention again) to see if any cars are coming.

Can You Improve Cognition?

Is it possible to improve cognition? How? Below we will show a tool and strategy oriented to improve cognition and cognitive performance:

THE COGNITIVE STIMULATION PROGRAM FROM COGNIFIT: This program was designed by a team of neurologists and cognitive psychologists that study synaptic plasticity and neurogenesis processes. You only need 15 minutes a day (2-3 times a week) to stimulate your cognitive processes. This program is available online, and has programs specific for individuals, researchers, health professionals, and schools.

The cognitive stimulation exercises from CogniFit effectively assess more than 20 fundamental cognitive functions, which are clearly defined and subject to an objective target control, which provides standardized results of age and demographic criteria based on thousands of results.

The different interactive exercises are presented as fun brain games that you can practice on your computer. After each session, CogniFit will present a detailed picture, showing the evolution of the user's cognitive state. It also compares their cognitive performance to other users. It has been shown that the battery of online clinical exercises from CogniFit promotes the creation of new synapses and neural circuits that are able to reorganize and recover function in the most deteriorated cognitive areas.

We know that, with time, the brain can change its structure and functioning. This is what we call brain or neuroplasticity Because of this brain plasticity, we are able to improve our cognitive skills, and also restore (or maintain) them if our brain is affected by a brain trauma (brain trauma, stroke) or a neurological disease (Multiple Sclerosis, Alzheimer's, cognitive deterioration…). Brain plasticity allows us to create new brain connections and increase neural circuits, which ultimately improves their functionality.

If neuroscience and studying brain plasticity has shown us anything, it is that the more we use a neural circuit, the stronger it gets. The cognitive stimulation program from CogniFit works to explore our cognitive processes. Once we are able to understand each individual's cognitive state, we are offer them a personalized cognitive training program. Focusing on the most challenging tasks will ensure that we are creating and establishing new neural connections, which will get stronger and stronger the more that they are trained.

Can you improve cognition?

REDUCE STRESS LEVEL: Stress increases cortisol levels, which attacks the myelin of the axons and impedes information from being efficiently transmitted. If we are able to reduce the stress in our lives, we may be able to improve our cognition, because reducing stress improves synaptic connections. Keeping a positive attitude makes us more creative when solving problems, and probably makes us more cognitively flexible.

MEDITATION: Meditation can also help our cognition. In the last few years, more and more studies have been looking at the effects of meditation on cognitive processes. It requires concentration and conscious attention, which as we said, are important for creating new functional circuits. The study seems to support this idea, and meditation has been related to improvements in attention, memory, executive functions, processing speed, and general cognition.

PHYSICAL EXERCISE: Doing some exercise can also improve cognition. It doesn't need to be particularly intense activities. In fact, walking 45 minutes, 3 times a week seems to improve memory and reasoning (executive functions), and practicing Tai-Chi improves mainly executive functioning.

References: Shatil E (2013). Does combined cognitive training and physical activity training enhance cognitive abilities more than either alone? A four-condition randomized controlled trial among healthy older adults. Front. Aging Neurosci. 5:8. doi: 10.3389/fnagi.2013.00008 Korczyn AD, Peretz C, Aharonson V, et al. - Computer based cognitive training with CogniFit improved cognitive performance above the effect of classic computer games: prospective, randomized, double blind intervention study in the elderly. Alzheimer's & Dementia: The Journal of the Alzheimer's Association 2007; 3(3):S171. Shatil E, Korczyn AD, Peretzc C, et al. - Improving cognitive performance in elderly subjects using computerized cognitive training - Alzheimer's & Dementia: The Journal of the Alzheimer's Association 2008; 4(4):T492.Verghese J, Mahoney J, Ambrose AF, Wang C, Holtzer R. - Effect of cognitive remediation on gait in sedentary seniors - J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci. 2010 Dec;65(12):1338-43.Evelyn Shatil, Jaroslava Mikulecká, Francesco Bellotti, Vladimír Burěs - Novel Television-Based Cognitive Training Improves Working Memory and Executive Function - PLoS ONE July 03, 2014. 10.1371/journal.pone.0101472.Gard T, Hölzel BK, Lazar SW. The potential effects of meditation on age-related cognitive decline: a systematic review. Ann N Y Acad Sci. 2014 Jan; 1307:89-103. doi: 10.1111/nyas.12348. 2.Voss MW et al. Plasticity of brain networks in a randomized intervention trial of exercise training in older adults. Front Aging Neurosci. 2010 Aug 26;2. pii: 32. doi: 10.3389/fnagi.2010.00032.

Please type your email address