选择您的平台并购买
免费试用1个月获得10个访问权限。
选择创建账户目的
现在注册!
loading

点击登记或使用CogniFit, 则表示你已经阅读,理解并同意 CogniFit的 以及

corporativelanding_memoria-corto-plazo_social_picture
  • 获得短期记忆测评的完整访问权限

  • 诊断受影响的认知能力

  • 经验证的恢复提高短期记忆的工具

loading

什么是短期记忆?

短期记忆可以定义为我们在短时间内能够保留一定数量的信息的记忆机制。短期记忆暂时保留处理后的信息,要么很快就烟消云散,要么变成长期记忆。短时记忆有两个主要属性︰ 有限的能力和有限的持续时间。

  • 短期记忆的能力 : 如果让你记十位数,你可能只会记得5-9位数中间的数字。这是因为 保留短期信息的数量 为7个信息保留两个, 或多或少。当然,短期记忆也会稍有变动,这就是为什么有些人记得多有的人记得少。记忆信息的数量也可能信息的影响,比如单词的长度、 情感的重要性,刺激,以及其他的个体差异。如果你能够进行分组,将信息编排在一起,也可能增加你能够记住的信息数量。例如,当试图记住一个电话号码时,编号组合起来,分成两个或三个一组可以容易地记住。
  • 短期记忆的持续时间︰你可以记住数字序列的时间是有限的。我们的短期记忆的信息 可以保留 30 秒的时间。但是,当你给这个信息赋予重要意义时,信息记忆的时间就会变长。

短时记忆就像通向长期记忆的大门,或储存室,它可能保留我们并不一定会在未来需要的,但我们在当下需要的信息。因为短期记忆与长期记忆直接相关,短时记忆的损害可以影响收集的新的记忆到长期记忆。

如果只有短期记忆被损坏,那么我们就丧失了短时间内记忆信息的能力。这也许会很困难,甚至不能正常的进行对话。

短期记忆与其他种类基础记忆的关系

当我们谈到记忆时,其实是指正常思考和经历的记忆,但是记忆还参与了许多其他过程。一般情况下,四个相对独立的记忆机制是可以相互区分的︰

  • 感官记忆︰ 在很短的时间,处理并发送到短期记忆保留的感官信息。
  • 短期记忆︰ 在短时间内保留有限数量的信息。
  • 工作记忆或操作记忆︰ 操作和工作中的短期记忆的信息,是一个非常活跃的过程。
  • 长期记忆︰ 保留了几乎无限数量的信息,其中一部分来自于短期的记忆,但是在无限长的时间。

信息可以通过各种不同的阶段或被存储或在中途被遗忘︰

  • 我们感知到感觉记忆 (感官) 接获信息。
  • 从那里,我们在短时间内的保存感官信息。
  • 信息可能被操纵 (组织),介入长期记忆。但这一步并不总是出现的。
  • 在最后阶段,大脑必须决定信息是重要的应该被记住或者是无关紧要的应该被遗忘。如果信息是重要的,那么记忆就会转移到长期记忆。

如果损坏了短期记忆,跟他有关的系统就会发生改变,像工作记忆和长期记忆。如果你不能够从短期记忆保留信息,操作 (工作) 记忆将不能正确处理此信息。在长期的记忆中,会影响获取新的记忆,不能进行从短期记忆到长期记忆的改变。总之,恢复以前存储在长期记忆中的记忆也不是不可能的。

短期记忆实例

  • 在一个漫长的对话中,你需要了记住这段话的第一部分来理解整段话的意义。短时记忆机制,允许您暂时记住这段话的开头。一旦你了解了信息,认为它并不是必要的,大脑就会自动遗忘该信息。
  • 当你阅读时时你的短期记忆会进行以上行为。您需要从记住一个书面的句子或了解的整体思想的顺序开始。比起记忆一个简单的短句,越长越复杂的句子越难记忆。在学术环境中,短期记忆扮演一个大角色。好的短期记忆有好的阅读理解能力,是学业上取得成功的根本。
  • 有人说一个电话号码的时侯,你的短期记忆︰ 从你你听到它到你操作记忆到记忆它的时间。
  • 一般情况下,长期记忆以前需要激活短期记忆。当你想从从书中汲取教训,记住密码,或记住几行的一首诗时,你正在使用你的短期记忆。

受短期记忆影响的神经心理功能

如果不同类型的记忆不是独立的,那么所有的系统将会损坏或改变因为一种类型的记忆的缺失。幸运的是,大脑给不同地区不同类型的记忆,这意味着在长期记忆中的变更不会影响到短期记忆。一般情况下,所有不同类型的记忆共同运作,我们很难找到他们的先后顺序。然而,当其中之一损坏时,大脑将无法正常运作,日常生活也会收到影响。

短期记忆改变,可以影响保留信息的时间,和保留的信息量。轻微的损坏就可能影响对该信息的保留时间,这种情况会被认为"可见性小"的破坏 (只能记忆信息 15 秒,而不是 30秒)。然而,极为剧烈的损坏可能会几乎完全破坏短期记忆的机制。

短期记忆会受到各种方式损坏。正如我们刚才所说,如引起 老年痴呆症,以及长期记忆的早期阶段有影响。短期记忆也被显示,在 诵读困难中,存储语音信息的难度增大,可能会导致阅读学习的问题。使用过量 大麻 经证明是会影响短时记忆的,同时由于 中风脑外伤 脑损伤是影响短时记忆的另一个因素。

怎么测试评估短期记忆?

短期记忆在大部分的日常活动中扮演一个很重要的角色。我们与我们的环境和我们周围的人进行交互的能力, 直接取决于短期记忆。这就是为什么评估你的短期记忆和知道你认知水平可以在各种不同领域帮助你的原因之一︰ 学术领域-将帮助您了解孩子是否有在阅读或理解长或复杂的句子的学习麻烦。医疗领域-有助于理解患者的话,如果你需要给他们进行基本诊断,如果他们将很难记住药物/诊断。专业领域-短期记忆可以作为引导,引导工人如何轻松地将内在化和复杂订单的操作。

CogniFit 的测试评估短期记忆受到的直接和间接数字测试从 WMS (韦氏记忆量表)、 CPT (连续性能测试)、 TOMM (测试的内存装病) 和 TOL (伦敦塔) 测试。除了短期记忆,这些测试也测量空间感知、 加工速度和工作记忆。

  • 测序测试WOM-ASM︰ 你将在屏幕上看到一系列球。用户要记住编号序列和重复序列。序列首先有的只是一个数字,会每次增加一个号码直到用户犯了错误。用户必须重复序列。
  • 注意力测试VISMEN-PLAN︰ 在屏幕上显示一系列的三个对象,而且用户必须记住它们出现的顺序。对象消失后,用户记住系列顺序,以便选择正确的选项。

怎么恢复和提高短时记忆?

和所有的认知能力一样,短时记忆可以被恢复和提高,CogniFit让之成为可能。

短期记忆康复基于 科学的 神经可塑性。CogniFit 提供系统可以恢复和改善与短期记忆和其他认知功能问题有关的临床练习。大脑和其神经连接变得更强,就像身体的肌肉。如果你频繁地训练你的短期记忆,连接将更快和更有效,这将有助于提高其整体的能力。

CogniFit 的科学团队是由在突触可塑性的研究和神经发生的影响的专业人员组成,过程中也就是让 个性化的认知刺激 程序有效。在程序中有全面的 神经心理学评估,以评估短期记忆和其他基本的认知功能。程序可以自动使用从最初的评估结果来创建一个个性化的大脑训练程序特定于每个用户的需求。

一贯与正确的训练程序培训是提高短期记忆的最佳途径。CogniFit 的评估和康复的工具可以优化这个认知的功能。培训只需 15 分钟每周 2-3 天

你可以 从 CogniFit 网上获得认知刺激程序 有大量的互动游戏和练习,可以在计算机上或在移动设备和平板电脑上完成训练。每次训练之后,用户会看到 他们认知的进度的详细的图形

请输入你的电子邮件地址

Choose your platform and buy
Try if one month free of charge with 10 licenses.
What is the account for?
Sign Up!

For users 13 years and older. Children under 13 can use CogniFit with a parent.

loading

By clicking Sign Up or using CogniFit, you are indicating that you have read, understood, and agree to CogniFit's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

  • Get access to a complete battery of cognitive tests to assess short-term memory

  • Identify and assess the presence of alterations or deficits

  • Validated instruments to improve or rehabilitate short-term memory and other cognitive skills

loading

What is short-term memory?

Short-term memory could be defined as the memory mechanism that allows us to retain a certain amount of information over a short period of time. Short-term memory temporarily retains processed information that either fades quickly or turns into long-term memory. Short-term memory has two main properties: a limited capacity and a finite duration.

  • Ability of short-term memory: If you are asked to remember a sequence of 10 digits, you'll likely be able to remember between 5 and 9 numbers. This is because the amount of information short-term is able to retain is 7 elements, with a variation of 2, either more or less. Naturally, short-term memory is slightly variable, which is why there are some people who have the ability to remember more or less elements. The ability to remember elements may also be affected by the function of the material, like the length of the words, the emotional relevance of the stimuli, and other individual differences. Also, if you are able to group or "chunk" information together, it is possible to increase the number of elements that you're able to remember. For example, when trying to remember a phone number, grouping the numbers into groups of two or three can make it easier to remember.
  • Duration of short-term memory: The amount of time that you can remember the sequence of digits is finite. Our short-term memory can retain information for up to 30 seconds. However, it's possible to increase this time by repeating the sequence or giving the elements a meaning.

Short-term memory acts like an access door to long-term memory, or like a storage room that makes it possible to retain information that we won't necessarily need in the future, but that we need in the moment. As short-term memory is directly related to long-term memory, any damage to short-term memory can affect the acquisition of new memories into long-term memory.

If short-term memory alone is damaged, we lose the ability to retain information over a short period of time. This would make it very difficult, or even impossible, to understand long sentences and and follow along in a conversation.

Short-term memory and its relation to other basic types of memory

When we talk about memory, it is normal to think about memories and experiences, but memory is involved in many other processes. In general, it is possible to distinguish between four memory mechanisms that are relatively independent from each other:

  • Sensory Memory: Retains sensory stimuli over a very short period of time in order to process them and send them to short-term memory.
  • Short-term memory: Retains a limited amount of information over a short period of time.
  • Working Memory or Operative memory: An active process that allows you to manipulate and work with the information in short-term memory.
  • Long-term memory: Retains a virtually infinite amount of information, part of which comes from short-term memory, over an indefinite amount of time.

Information can pass through various different stages on its way to either being stored or forgotten:

  • We perceive the information that is received by sensory memory (senses).
  • From there, our short-term memory retains the information over a short period of time.
  • The information may be manipulated (organized). Here is where long-term memory intervenes. This step does not always occur.
  • In the last stage, the brain must decide whether or not the information is relevant and should be remembered, or if it is irrelevant and should be forgotten. If the information is important, the memory will be passed on to long-term memory.

If short-term memory is damaged, the systems that depend on it will be altered, like working memory and long-term memory. If you are not able to retain information from short-term memory, operative (working) memory will not able to properly manipulate this information. With respect to long-term memory, new memories will be affected, as the information passed from short-term memory to long-term memory will be altered. However, it is possible to recover memories previously stored in long-term memory.

Examples of short-term memory

  • In order to understand a long sentence in a conversation, you need to remember the first part of the sentence in order to understand its entirety. Short-term memory is the mechanism that allows you to temporarily remember the beginning of the sentence. Once you've understood the information, it's not necessary to remember this information, and the brain forgets the words.
  • When you read, your short-term memory acts similarly to the previous example. You will need to remember the beginning of a written sentence or idea in order to understand the entire thought. It will be much more difficult to remember a long, complex sentence than a short and simple one. This, understandably, plays a large role in academic settings. A good short-term memory is related to reading comprehension, which is fundamental for academic success.
  • When someone says a phone number, your short-term memory is working from the time you hear it to when you write it down.
  • In general, long-term memory requires the previous activation of short-term memory. When you try to learn a lesson from a book, memorize a password, or remember few lines of a poem, you're using your short-term memory.

Pathologies and disorders associated with short-term memory

If the different types of memory weren't independent, all of the systems would fail if one of the types of memory was damaged or altered. Luckily, the brain dedicates different areas to different types of memory, which means that an alteration in long-term memory won't affect short-term memory. In general, all of the different types of memory work together, and it would be difficult to find the point where one type of memory ends and another begins. However, when one of them is damaged, the brain is unable to do its job and suffers significantly when performing day-to-day tasks.

An alteration in short-term memory can affect both how long information is held, as well as the amount of information that is retained. In the case of a mild alteration, the amount of time that the information is retained may be affected, which would be considered a "little visible" damage (retain information 15 seconds rather than 30). However, a severe alteration may almost completely destroy the mechanism of short-term memory .

Short-term memory can be damaged in a variety of ways. As we mentioned earlier, it is altered in the early stages of Alzheimer's Disease, along with long-term memory. Short-term memory has also been shown to play a role in dyslexia, as the difficulty to store phonological information may lead to problems learning to read. Consuming excess marijuana is another factor that has shown to affect short-term memory, as well as brain damage due to stroke or brain trauma.

How can you measure and assess short-term memory?

Short-term memory plays a large role in the majority of daily activities. Our ability to appropriately interact with our environment and the people that surround us depends directly on short-term memory. This is one of the reasons why evaluating your short-term memory and knowing your cognitive level can be helpful in a variety of different areas: Academic- will help you understand if a child has trouble learning to read or understanding long or complex sentences. Medical- helps understand how to talk to patients, if you need to give basic instructions, if they will have trouble remembering a medication/diagnosis. Professional- short-term memory can serve as an indicator of how easily a worker will internalize and work with complex orders.

CogniFit's tests to assess short-term memory were inspired by the Direct and Indirect Digits Test from the WMS (Wechsler Memory Scale), the CPT (Continuous Performance Test), TOMM (Test of Memory Malingering), and TOL (Tower of London) tests. Aside from short-term memory, these tests also measure spatial perception, processing speed, and working memory.

  • Sequencing Test WOM-ASM: You will see a series of balls on the screen. The user will have to memorize the series of numbers and repeat the sequence. The sequence will first be made of just one number, and will increase by one number each time until the user makes a mistake. The user will have to repeat the sequence after each presentation.
  • Concentration Test VISMEN-PLAN: A series of three objects will appear on the screen, and the user must remember the order in which they appeared. The objects will disappear, and the user will have to remember the series in order to choose the correct option on the screen.

How can you rehabilitate or improve short-term memory

Just like all of our cognitive abilities, short-term memory can be trained and improved. CogniFit makes it possible to follow a professional training program.

Short-term memory rehabilitation is based on the science of neuroplasticity. CogniFit offers a battery of clinical exercises designed to rehabilitate and improve problems with short-term memory and other cognitive functions. The brain and its neural connections become stronger with use, just like the body's muscles. If you frequently train your short-term memory, the connections will be quicker and more efficient, which will improve its overall ability.

The scientific team at CogniFit is made up of professionals specialized in the study of synaptic plasticity and the process of neurogenesis, which is what makes the personalized cognitive stimulation program effective. The program starts with a comprehensive neuropsychological assessment to assess short-term memory and other fundamental cognitive functions. The program them automatically uses the results from the initial assessment to create a personalized brain training program specific to the needs of each user.

Consistently training with the right training program is the best way to improve short-term memory. CogniFit has assessment and rehabilitation tools to optimize this cognitive function. Training only takes 15 minutes 2-3 days a week.

You can get access to the cognitive stimulation program from CogniFit online There are a number of interactive games and exercises that can be done on the computer or on mobile devices and tablets. After each session, the user will see a detailed graph with their cognitive progress.

Please type your email address