选择您的平台并购买
免费试用1个月获得10个访问权限。
选择创建账户目的
现在注册!
loading

点击登记或使用CogniFit, 则表示你已经阅读,理解并同意 CogniFit的 以及

创伤性颅脑损伤

创伤性颅脑损伤

七个星期前,18岁的大卫出了车祸。在这次事故中,大卫的头骨猛烈地撞击在方向盘上。在相撞过程中,非常坚硬且耐抵抗的大脑颅骨受到了撞击。大卫失去了2至3分钟的知觉。之后的检查发现,他的颅骨没有骨折。幸运的是,在大脑或大脑周围,没有出现出血,肿胀或血块。因此避免了大脑氧供应的缺失以及更严重的脑损伤。七个星期以来,大卫总是有头痛以及注意力不能完全集中的问题。有时候会出现视力模糊,以及犯困的状况。

这些都是一些被称为轻度创伤性脑损伤的症状特征。其他症状包括意识模糊,头晕,无力抵抗声音和光线,情绪变化,疲劳, 或集中的问题。严重创伤性脑损伤的情况,症状和轻度创伤性脑损伤相似,但更加严重。如果有意识丧失的情况,可能会持续几个小时,几天或无限的时间期限。如果受到损伤,可能出现语言不连贯或模糊的状况。其他严重创伤性脑损伤的症状可能包括异常的行为,情绪激动,反复呕吐,瞳孔扩张,下肢虚弱或麻木,以及膀胱或肠道控制能力减弱。并发症可能会与一系列的症状一起发生,比如认知功能障碍,无法沟通,癫痫发作,面部神经损伤,感染以及与情绪和行为相关的问题。

这些症状,或多或少,轻度或重度,都是大脑损害所产生的结果。症状的产出是因为大脑经历了打击或震动所引起暂时大脑细胞损伤,严重的情况下,出现青紫,内出血,神经元死亡和/或脑组织损失。 和其相关症状互不相同。损伤可以由轻到重,可发生于大脑的任意部位。对大脑意外的打击和震动很大部分是由于车祸,坠落,运动和斗殴引起的。 要确定严重程度,医生会收集一些如受伤情况,并根据由昏迷指数测量的意识状态的信息。 损伤程度划分为轻度,中度和重度的情况。在轻度的情况下,会经历轻微脑震荡,但神经系统的调节是完整的。大多数轻度患者会出现记忆力和注意力集中的困难。在中度情况下,患者出现昏睡的情况。在重度情况下,会处于昏迷状态,无法辨认大脑指示,无法睁开眼睛。受到头部打击或撞击的婴儿应交由内科医生诊断,因为婴儿无法描述他们的症状。

休息是治疗脑损伤的唯一治疗方法。然而,需要特别的护理和药物来治疗大脑的继发性损害(过量液体,血液氧合降低,病情发作和其他),尤其是在更严重的情况下。最危险的创伤性脑损伤的高危人群是从出生至4周岁的婴幼儿,年龄较大的青少年和65周岁以上的老年人。

每年大约有超过150万的人受到创伤性脑骨损伤。在这些人群中,有800 000例早期门诊治疗的病例和270 000例住院治疗。 由于重度创伤性脑骨损伤,每年有52 000例的死亡病例和80 000例严重永久性神经系统残疾病例。

在没有创伤性脑损伤有效治疗的情况下,最好的办法是预防。为婴幼儿和老年人提供更安全的周围环境,教育青少年具有安全行为意识是必不可少的。抱婴儿时必须周到地考虑到安全和稳定(不要摇晃),使用安全带,头盔,枪支子弹安全储存,避免酒精影响,安装扶手和防滑垫,和防止楼梯对幼儿的障碍。

康复治疗是非常必要的,特别对严重的脑损伤病例来说。康复治疗小组包括神经心理学医生和或护士,康复医学,语音和语言治疗,职业理疗,精神病学,社会工作和休闲。大量研究表明,认知训练(或大脑训练)对伤性脑损伤引起的的认知功能受损的康复是很重要的。当认知损害位于大脑的大多部位,多领域的大脑训练项目,也就是训练广泛的认知功能是非常有必要的。

请输入你的电子邮件地址

Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software
Choose your platform and buy
Try if one month free of charge with 10 licenses.
What is the account for?
Sign Up!

By clicking Sign Up or using CogniFit, you are indicating that you have read, understood, and agree to CogniFit's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.


Traumatic Brain Injury

Case description

  • Get access to our online platform to work cognitive abilities.

  • Assess cognitive level through our general assessment.

  • Personalized training programs for each user. Give it a try!


Seven weeks ago, David W., age 18, had a car accident. In the accident David's skull violently hit the steering wheel. During the blow, his brain collided with the skull which is made of very hard and resistant bone. David lost consciousness for 2 to 3 minutes. Later examinations revealed that his skull had not been fractured. Fortunately, no bleeding, swelling, or blood clots were observed in or around the brain. Thus a disturbance of the oxygen supply to the brain was avoided along with more extensive brain damage. For seven weeks now David has experienced headaches as well as significant concentration problems. At rare times his vision is blurred. David is often sleepy.

These are a few of the symptoms which characterize what is called mild traumatic brain injury. Other symptoms may include confusion, dizziness, inability to sustain sound and light, mood changes, fatigue, memory or concentration problems. In cases of severe traumatic brain injury symptoms are similar but more intense. Loss of consciousness, if experienced, may continue for hours, days or unlimited periods of time. If affected, speech may become incoherent or blurred. Other symptoms of severe traumatic brain injury may include uncharacteristic behavior and agitation, recurrent vomiting, pupils' dilatation, feebleness or numbness in lower limbs and poor control of bladder or bowel. Complications may occur which are associated with a wide range of symptoms such as cognitive dysfunction, communication disability, seizures, facial nerve damage, infections as well as with emotional and behavioral problems.

These symptoms, few or many, mild or severe, are the result of the damage incurred to the brain. They occur because the blow or jolt to the brain has occasioned temporary cell damage, and, in more severe cases, bruising, internal bleeding, neuronal death and/or loss of tissue. Brain injuries and their associated symptoms differ from each other. Damage can vary from light to heavy and can occur in any part of the brain. Blows and jolts to the brain are for the most part unexpected and arise from a violent experience such as car accidents, falls, sports and combat. To determine degree of severity doctors collect information about the circumstances of the injury and use state of consciousness as measured by the Glascow Coma Scale. The scale classifies into mild, moderate and severe cases. In mild cases there is concussion but neurological recuperation is complete. Most mild patients experience memory and concentration difficulties. In moderate cases, the patient is lethargic and in severe cases, in a state of coma, incapable of following directions and opening his eyes. Infants who have received a head blow or jolt must always be referred to a physician as they are unable to communicate their symptoms.

Rest is the only treatment for the brain injury itself. However, special care and medication might be indicated to confine the secondary damage (excess fluid, reduced blood oxygenation, seizure and others) occasioned to the brain, especially in the more severe cases. People most at risk for traumatic brain injury are the very young, birth till 4 years old, older adolescents and the aged, 65 years and over.

Over one and a half million people experience traumatic brain injuries each year. Among those, 800 000 require early outpatient care and 270 000 are hospitalized. Each year about 52 000 deaths and 80 000 permanent severe neurological disabilities result from severe traumatic brain injury.

In the absence of treatment for traumatic brain injury, the best course of action is prevention. Creating safer surroundings for infants and older adults and educating adolescents for a safer conduct are essential. Careful thought must be given to safe and steady baby holding (with no shaking), the use of seat belts, helmets, the storage of firearms and bullets, the influence of alcohol, the installation of hand rails and non-slip mats, and of stair barriers for young children.

Rehabilitation is often needed, especially in the case of significant brain injury. The rehabilitation team may include doctors and/or nurses in neuropsychology, rehabilitative medicine, speech and language, occupational therapy, psychiatry, social work and recreation. Extensive research shows that cognitive training (or brain training) is important for the rehabilitation of cognitive function impaired by traumatic brain injury. When cognitive damage is diffuse (inflicted to widespread areas in the brain), multi-domain brain training programs, that train a wide range of cognitive functions, are indicated.

The consequences of an acquired brain injury may be more or less severe, and can affect cognition level which affects this impairment. Language, memory, perception, as well as other cognitive abilities may be affected after a head injury. Executive functions are necessary for more complex tasks, which is why training them with a scientifically validated training program is so important. At CogniFit we use programs that assess the user's cognitive deterioration in order to be able to make a personalized training program to work their specific needs.


James Siberski, Evelyn Shatil, Carol Siberski, Margie Eckroth-Bucher, Aubrey French, Sara Horton, Rachel F. Loefflad, Phillip Rouse. Computer-Based Cognitive Training for Individuals With Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities: Pilot Study - The American Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease & Other Dementias 2014; doi: 10.1177/1533317514539376

Peretz C, Korczyn AD, Shatil E, Aharonson V, Birnboim S, Giladi N. - Computer-Based, Personalized Cognitive Training versus Classical Computer Games: A Randomized Double-Blind Prospective Trial of Cognitive Stimulation - Neuroepidemiology 2011; 36:91-9.

Evelyn Shatil, Jaroslava Mikulecká, Francesco Bellotti, Vladimír Burěs - Novel Television-Based Cognitive Training Improves Working Memory and Executive Function - PLoS ONE July 03, 2014. 10.1371/journal.pone.0101472

Shatil E, Korczyn AD, Peretzc C, et al. - Improving cognitive performance in elderly subjects using computerized cognitive training - Alzheimer's & Dementia: The Journal of the Alzheimer's Association 2008; 4(4):T492.

Muñoz-Céspedes, J. M., Tirapu-Ustarroz J. (2001). Neuropsychological rehabilitation. Madrid: Synthesis

Trexler LE. Empirical support for neuropsychological rehabilitation. En: Christensen AL y Uzzell B, eds. International handbook of neuropsychological rehabilitation. New York: Kluwer Academic/ Plenum Publishers; 2000. p. 137-50.

Rohling, M. L., Faust, M. E., Beverly, B., & Demakis, G. (2009). Effectiveness of cognitive rehabilitation following acquired brain injury: a meta-analytic re-examination of Cicerone et al.'s (2000, 2005) systematic reviews. Neuropsychology, 23(1), 20.

Please type your email address