关于本网站的Cookies

本网站使用Cookie来改善您的在线体验。 通过继续使用本网站而不更改您的Cookie偏好,我们将假定您同意我们使用Cookie。 有关更多信息或更改您的Cookie偏好设置,请访问我们的政策

接受
选择您的平台并购买
免费试用1个月获得10个访问权限。
请选择要创建的账户
现在注册!

请确认该账户是对个人进行的认知评估和培训的个人账户创建一个个人账户,该账户专门用于帮助评估和培训个人的认知技能

请确认认知训练和评估适用于您的患者。 您将创建一个患者管理帐户。 该帐户可以让您的患者能够使用CogniFit评估和培训

请确认该账户是对家人或朋友进行认知评估和培训的家庭账户创建一个家庭账户,该账户专门用于帮助家庭成员进行CogniFit的评估和培训

请确认该账户是对研究参与者进行认知评估和培训的研究账户创建一个研究账户,该账户专门用于帮助研究人员在认知专业领域进行研究

请确认认知训练和评估适用于您的学生您将创建一个学生管理帐户。 该帐户可以让您的学生获得CogniFit评估和培训。

适用于16岁以上的用户。 16岁以下的孩子可以在同一个家庭平台上与父母共同使用CogniFit。

loading

点击登记或使用CogniFit, 则表示你已经阅读,理解并同意 CogniFit的 以及

corporativelanding_STUDY-COGNITIVE-TRAINING-ADULTS-ID-DD_social_picture

CogniFit: 对智力残疾成年人的积极影响

关于智力或发育残疾成年人认知培训的科学出版物

此页面仅供参考。 我们不出售任何可以治疗疾病的产品。 CogniFit用于治疗疾病的产品目前正在验证过程中。 如果您感兴趣,请访问CogniFit研究平台
  • 从研究人员的平台可以方便地管理患者

  • 为您的研究参与者评估和培训多达23项认知技能

  • 检查和比较参与者的认知发展, 以获取您的研究数据

现在开始
loading

原始名称: Computer-Based Cognitive Training for Individuals With Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities: Pilot Study.

作者: James Siberski1, Elelyn Shatil2, carol Sibersk3, margie ecroth-bucher4, Aubrey French5, Sara Horton6, Rachel F. Loefflad7 y Phillip Rouse8.

  • 1. 美国宾夕法尼亚州达拉斯市 宾夕法尼亚大学老年学助理教授。
  • 2. 以色列海法 CogniFit Inc. 首席科学家、认知科学主管。
  • 3. 美国宾夕法尼亚州南提私人执业老年护理经理。
  • 4. 美国宾夕法尼亚州布卢姆斯布尔布卢布斯堡大学护理系教授。
  • 5. 美国宾夕法尼亚州金斯敦人力资源和服务研究所方案专家。
  • 6. 美国宾夕法尼亚州西怀俄明州长期护理社会工作者。
  • 7. 娱乐治疗师, 达拉斯, 宾夕法尼亚州, 美国。
  • 8. 私人执业执照心理学家, 宾夕法尼亚州桑伯里, 美国。

杂志: 美国阿尔茨海默氏症和其他痴呆杂志 (2015年), vol. 30 (1): 41-48.

参考本文的引用 (APA 格式):

  • Siberski, J., Shatil, E., Siberski, C., Eckroth-Bucher, M., French, A., Horton, S., Loefflad, R.F., & Rouse, P. (2015). Computer-Based Cognitive Training for Individuals With Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities: Pilot Study. Am J Alzheimers Dis Other Demen, 30 (1), pp.41-48.

研究结论

Cognifit 个性化认知培训是一个很有希望的项目, 每天20-30分钟、每周3天、通过10周的时间, 提高智力或发育障碍成年人的认知能力.视觉记忆, p =.003;规划, p =.009;监视, p =.017 (是α= 0.05 或α= 1)。

研究总结

本研究旨在测试个性化认知训练如何影响有智力残疾 (ID)发育障碍 (DD)成人的认知能力。

对32例有智力残疾和发育障碍患者的15种认知能力进行了评估。参与者被分为三组:

  • CogniFit使用计算机 的11人
  • 控制组有11人使用电子游戏
  • 10人在控制组的等待名单或日常活动。

尽管对研究的依从性很高,但参与者人数非常少之又少 (组内和组间)结果不显着当应用 高等级的α 系数(α=.001)然而,通过应用稍微更宽松的α系数水平,15种认知能力中的11种在计算机化认知训练组中显示出重要的改善。据估计, 有了具有代表性的样本, 数据可以达到统计上显著的水平。

这些数据很有希望, 可以为今后使用更大样本进行研究提供良好的基础。如果得到证实, 这将证明患有ID/DD 的人进行计算机化认知培训的重要性, 例如 CogniFit 提供的培训。

情景

智力残疾和发育障碍 (如自闭症或脑瘫) 带来了一些异常的困难, 导致对其他人口的适应性行为缺陷。在美国, 估计有5% 的小学或中学儿童患有某种类型的 智力障碍或认知缺陷。

就成年人而言, 信息量较少, 但数据表明, 智力残疾成年人的比例为 0.5%, 而发育残疾成年人的比例为 0.4%。这些残疾可对个人、家庭和社会产生重大影响。

现在人们对使用计算机化工具 (如 CogniFit) 提高认知能力越来越感兴趣。尽管如此,这些人通常不能轻易访问这些工具。这往往是由于错误地认为他们不能使用计算机造成的

重要的是要改变这种错误的想法,因为 患有智力障碍和认知缺陷的人患某种类型的认知障碍具有相同或更大的风险。 这就需要证明使用计算机化认知训练对智力或发育障碍患者的益处。

方法

参与者

从145名智障人士或发育障碍成年人中选出32名参与者,他们为有这些问题的人士申请了一个特定的康复中心。该研究在同一个中心进行,该中心位于美国宾夕法尼亚州东北部的一个城市中。

参与该研究的标准是:

  • 有针对智力缺陷和认知障碍的诊断
  • 年满21岁的人。
  • 身体健康。
  • 工作坊的员工。
  • 想参加这项研究。

排除标准包括:

  • 对计算机缺乏兴趣。
  • 无法持续坐在电脑前25-30分钟。
  • 无法在计算机屏幕上清晰地看到图像。

参与者被告知研究的目标和要求。 参与者的监护人签署了同意书。 宾夕法尼亚州的大学的董事会批准了这项研究的程序。

设计

应用了随意,随机设计。 参与者被随机分配到三组中的一组:

  • 计算机化认知训练组(使用CogniFit)。
  • 视频游戏控制组。
  • 控制组等待名单。

参与者不知道他们属于哪个群体,但研究人员确实会拥有这些信息。 实际上,视频游戏控制组的活动被设计的与认知训练组的活动相似。 两组的治疗持续时间,治疗前和治疗后评估均相同。

过程

TONI-3(非言语智力测试,第三版)用于评估每个参与者的全球智力水平

神经心理学评估使用 CogniFit认知评估。 为避免适应,CogniFit工具会自动为每次评估应用不同版本的刺激和任务。 它也经过科学验证。 该评估包括15项测量15种认知技能的任务。

最后,干预措施在康复中心进行,但每个都在不同的房间进行。 干预措施持续10周以上,每周3次,每次20-30分钟

控制组与视频游戏

该小组的参与者进行了专门为该研究设计的活动。 这些活动的外观或持续时间与CogniFit相似,但在认知训练方面没有一些最相关的特征:它们不符合用户的水平,不需要快速反应或参与超过在同时进行一次刺激的任务。 因此,可以让它充当安慰剂,尽管他们仍然允许一定程度的训练。

有等待名单的控制组

这个小组保持其正常的时间表和活动。这些主要包括工作,在公共餐厅吃饭,早晚休息等。

分析

通过SPSS 17进行统计分析。为了测量所研究的15种认知能力的组内和组间差异,混合效应模型(具有固定和随机效应)用于重复测量 ,每个变量都会有一个单独的模型。

结果和结论

结果显示,训练前评估和训练后评估的认知能力评分之间没有统计学上的显着差异。 事实上,15个组内或组间比较中没有一个是显着的(p> .001)。 因此,认知训练组在训练后的认知能力没有任何相关的改善,也没有显示出对照组的任何相关改善(也没有显示出改善)。

然而,当标准不那么严格时(p <.05 和p <.1),实验组在15种认知能力中的11种显示出显着效果,就初始评估而言(视觉记忆, p = .003; 计划,p = .009; 监测,p = .017)。应用这些标准,对照组的15种认知能力中的4种也有显着影响。对于这种类型的研究,这些数据非常有趣,特别是当使用这样一个小样本时(可能导致在如此严格的水平上产生不显着的结果)。通过Cohen的观察,观察到实验组中的帖子和预测测试之间的效果大小为:

  • 中等(Cohen's d.58和.72)在以下认知能力中:监测,计划,识别,响应时间,认知灵活性,空间感知,视觉记忆和视觉扫描。
  • 在命名,视觉感知和工作记忆方面较小(cohen .44,.37和.41)。

因此,该研究的结果并不显着,可能是由于样本的尺寸小。 这种限制使得该试点研究的结果不具代表性。 尽管如此,数据结果也是令人鼓舞。 希望在用更大的样品进行相同的实验时,结果将是更显着的。 此外,在应用限制性较低的标准时, 11种认知能力是显着的(P <.05和P <.1)。 这使我们认为 CogniFit可以成为培养智障人士或发育障碍人士认知能力的优秀工具

请输入你的电子邮件地址

About Cookies on this site

This site uses Cookies to improve your online experience. By continuing to use this site without changing your cookie preferences we will assume that you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, or to change your cookie preferences, visit our cookie policy.

Accept
Choose your platform and buy
Try if one month free of charge with 10 licenses.
What is the account for?
Sign Up!

Confirm that the use of assessments and training is for yourselfYou are going to create a personal account. This type of account is specially designed to help you evaluate and train your cognitive skills

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for your patients. You are going to create a patient management account. This account is specially designed to help health professionals (doctors, psychologists, etc.) with the diagnosis, and intervention of cognitive disorders.

Confirm that you want to offer training and/or cognitive assessments to your family or friends.You are going to create a family account. This account is designed to give your family members access to CogniFit evaluations and training.

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for research study participants.You are going to create a research account. This account is specially designed to help researchers with their studies in the cognitive areas.

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for your students.You are going to create a student management account. This account is designed to assist in the diagnosis and intervention of cognitive disorders in children and young students.

For users 16 years and older. Children under 16 can use CogniFit with a parent on one of the other platforms.

loading

By clicking Sign Up or using CogniFit, you are indicating that you have read, understood, and agree to CogniFit's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

corporativelanding_STUDY-COGNITIVE-TRAINING-ADULTS-ID-DD_social_picture

CogniFit: Promising Effects on Adults with Intellectual Disabilities

Scientific publication on cognitive training for adults with intellectual or developmental disabilities

  • Conveniently manage patients from the researchers' platform

  • Evaluate and train up to 23 cognitive skills for your study participants

  • Check and compare participants' cognitive development for your study data

Start Now
loading

Original Name: Computer-Based Cognitive Training for Individuals With Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities: Pilot Study.

Authors: James Siberski1, Evelyn Shatil2, Carol Siberski3, Margie Eckroth-Bucher4, Aubrey French5, Sara Horton6, Rachel F. Loefflad7 y Phillip Rouse8.

  • 1. Assistant Professor Gerontology, Misericordia Univesristy, Dallas, PA, USA.
  • 2. Chief Scientist, Head of Cognitive Science, CogniFit Inc, Haifa, Israel.
  • 3. Private practice Geriatric Care Manager, Nanticoke, PA, USA.
  • 4. Professor Department of Nursing, Bloomsburg University, Bloomsbur, PA, USA.
  • 5. Program specialist at the Institute for Human Resources and Sevices, Kingston, PA, USA.
  • 6. Social Worker, Long Term Care, West Wyoming, PA, USA.
  • 7. Recreational Therapist, Dallas, PA, USA.
  • 8. Private Practice License Psychologist, Sunbury, PA, Usa.

Journal: American Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease & Other Dementias (2015), vol. 30 (1): 41-48.

References to this article (APA style):

  • Siberski, J., Shatil, E., Siberski, C., Eckroth-Bucher, M., French, A., Horton, S., Loefflad, R.F., & Rouse, P. (2015). Computer-Based Cognitive Training for Individuals With Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities: Pilot Study. Am J Alzheimers Dis Other Demen, 30 (1), pp.41-48.

Study Conclusion

CogniFit personalized cognitive training is a promising program to improve cognitive performance in adults with intellectual or developmental disabilities through 20-30 minutes daily, 3 days a week, for 10 weeks. Visual memory, p=. 003; Planning, p=. 009; Monitoring, p=. 017 (Yes α=.05 or α=.1).

Study Summary

This study wanted to test how personalized cognitive training affects the cognitive abilities of adults with intellectual disability (ID) or developmental disability (DD).

Fifteen cognitive abilities were evaluated in 32 people with DI/DD. The participants were divided into three groups:

  • 11 people in Computer CogniFit
  • 11 people in control group with video games.
  • 10 people in control group of the waiting list or daily activities.

Despite the high adherence to the study, the number of participants was very small and the results (both intra and inter-group) were not significant when applying a high level of α (α=.001). However, by applying slightly more permissive levels of α, 11 of the 15 cognitive abilities showed an important improvement in the computerized cognitive training group. It is estimated that, with a representative sample, the data could reach statistically significant levels.

These data are promising and could be a good basis for a future study using a larger sample. If confirmed, this would demonstrate the importance of people with ID/DD performing computerized cognitive training, such as that offered by CogniFit.

Context

Intellectual disability and developmental disability (such as autism or cerebral palsy) entail a number of very heterogeneous difficulties that translate into a deficit in adaptive behavior with respect to the rest of the population. In the United States, it is estimated that 5% of children in primary or secondary school have some type of ID/DD.

In the case of adults, information is scarcer, but the data suggest that percentage of adults with intellectual disabilities is 0.5 %, while percentage of adults with developmental disabilities is 0.4%. These disabilities can have a significant personal, family and social impact.

There is now a growing interest in improving cognitive skills through computerized tools, such as CogniFit. In spite of this, it is common for these people not to have easy access to these tools. This is often given by the erroneous belief that they are not able to use a computer.

It is important to change this erroneous belief because people with ID/DD have an equal or greater risk of suffering some type of cognitive impairment. This posed need to prove the benefit of computerized cognitive training for people with intellectual or developmental disabilities.

Methodology

Participants

Thirty-two participants were selected from among 145 adults with an intellectual disability or developmental disability who attended a specific rehabilitation center for people with these problems.The study was conducted in this same center, located in a city in northeastern Pennsylvania, USA.

The inclusion criteriato participate in the study were:

  • Have a diagnosis of ID/DD
  • Being over 21 years of age.
  • li>Good health.
  • Workshop employee.
  • Wanting to participate in the study.

Exclusion criteria included:

  • Lack of interest in computers.
  • Inability to sit at a computer for 25-30 minutes.
  • Inability to see images clearly on the computer screen.

Participants were told the objectives and requirements of the study. The participants' guardians signed the consent form. The board of Misericordia University approved the procedure for this study.

Design

A blind, randomized design was applied. Participants were randomly assigned to one of three groups:

  • Computerized Cognitive Training Group (with CogniFit).
  • Video game control group.
  • Waiting list control group.

Participants were unaware of which group they belonged to, but the researchers did possess this information. In fact, the activities of the video game control group were designed to resemble those of the cognitive training group. The duration of the sessions, pre- and post-treatment evaluation were the same in both groups.

Process

The TONI-3 (Test of Non-verbal Intelligence, third edition) was used to evaluate the global intelligence level of each one of the participants.

A neuropsychological evaluation using CogniFit cognitive assessment. To avoid adaptation, the CogniFit tool automatically applies different versions of stimuli and tasks for each evaluation. It has also been scientifically validated. This assessment consisted of 15 tasks measuring 15 cognitive skills.

Finally, interventions were carried out in the rehabilitation center but in different rooms each. The interventions lasted 10 weeks and consisted of 3 weekly sessions of 20-30 minutes each one.

CogniFit Intervention: Researchers Platform

CogniFit was used for the experimental computerized cognitive training group. CogniFit is an online cognitive training program, scientifically validated by different studies.

  • CogniFit allows personalized cognitive trainingThis means that the type of activity and difficulty of this is constantly adapted to the needs of each participant.
  • Online and in 18 languages it is accessible to anyone. This made it possible for participants to train from their own homes.
  • It measures the performance in each session, which detects the strengths and weaknesses of each participant and programs automatically the best training plan. This makes it unlikely that two participants will do exactly the same training.

CogniFit currently has over 30 different tasks and different difficulty levels. In this way, they will be able to train their cognitive abilities at the appropriate level to be challenging, but without being frustrating. It also provides feedback after each session, so that participants will be able to know what their strengths and weaknesses are and focus on them.

Thanks to CogniFit's researchers platform we can comfortably manage participant information. To create a free account just follow the steps below. The researchers account allows:

  • Invite and regulate participants' activities, as well as the tests that will be applied to measure and/or train their cognitive functions.
  • Collect participant data, being able to see the cognitive evolution.
  • Conduct experimental studies on the effects of cognitive stimulation through computer programs.
  • Design research with general or specific training of cognitive areas
.

To create a free account just follow the steps below. The researchers account allows:

NT

When we are logged in, we may acquire licenses for evaluations, trainings or both . CogniFit tool has 9 different evaluations and 15 different training programs.

NT

CogniFit has two main products that allow us to measure and trains all the cognitive skills which are widely supported by previous scientific research:

  • Evaluations: Through 18 different tasks we can evaluate more than 20 cognitive abilities in a precise way. This allows us to create a full profile of the participant's current cognitive state. The complete assessment is the General Assessment (CAB), but CogniFit also offers more specific assessment batteries: for Depression, Parkinson, Dyslexia At the beginning of each task, the participant will be explained interactively what to do.
  • Training: With more than 30 training gamesit is possible to stimulate all the cognitive skills that we train at CogniFit. The customized brain training allows us to strengthen our cognitive abilities in an entertaining and comfortable way, although CogniFit also offers specific training. The games include an interactive explanation so that participants can easily understand their role. Each training session, which consists of three activities, lasts approximately 15-20 minutes. In addition, the tool automatically adapts the difficulty of the activities to the participants' level. We will also have the option to indicate the number of hours that we want each participant to rest between each training sessions.

When we have chosen the evaluations and training that interest us, we can invite our participants, assign them a group and activities that they will have to do. Participants will receive an invitation in their email and will only need to create an account as a normal user and accept that we researchers can see their results.

NT

From our researchers' platform, we will be able to observe the activity of our participants, see the profiles or cognitive progress and export the study data. We'll be able to access different data:

  • The five cognitive areas that include all other cognitive skills
NT
  • The individual state of each cognitive skill
NT
  • A graphic with the general evolution of the participant's cognitive progress, or each of the cognitive abilities independently.
.
NT

Control Group with videogames

Participants in this group did activities designed especially for this study. These activities were intended to be similar in appearance or duration to those of CogniFit, but did not have some of its most relevant characteristics for cognitive training: they did not fit the level of the user, did not require rapid response or attending to more than one stimulus at the same time in any of its tasks. Therefore, it can be said that it acted as a placebo, although they still allowed a certain degree of training.

Control Group with waiting list

This group maintained its usual schedule and activities. These consisted mostly of workshops, eating in a common dining room, having morning and evening breaks, etc.

Analysis

Statistical analyses were conducted through SPSS 17. To measure intragroup and intergroup differences in the 15 cognitive abilities studied, mixed effect models (with fixed and random effects) were used for repeated measurements, with a separate model for each variable.

Results y conclusions

The results showed that there were no statistically significant differences between cognitive ability scores in pre-training assessment and post-training scores. In fact, none of the 15 intragroup or intergroup comparisons were significant (p>. 001). Therefore, the cognitive training group did not show any relevant improvement in their cognitive abilities after training, nor did they show any relevant improvement with respect to the control groups (who also showed no improvement).

However, when criteria are less strict (p < .05 y p < .1), the experimental group shows significant effects in 11 out of the 15 cognitive abilities , in regards to the initial evaluation (Visual memory, p=. 003; Planning, p=. 009; Monitoring, p=. 017). Applying these criteria, there were also significant effects on 4 of the 15 cognitive abilities in the control groups. This data is very interesting for this type of study, especially when such a small sample has been used (which may contribute to the non-significant results at such a strict level). Through Cohen's d, it was observed that the effect size between the posts and the pretest in the experimental group was:

  • Medium (Cohen's d between. 58 and. 72) in the following cognitive abilities: monitoring, planning, recognition, response time, cognitive flexibility, spatial perception, visual memory and visual scanning.
  • Small (Cohen's d of .44, .37 y .41) in naming, visual perception, and working memory.

Therefore, the results of this study are not significant, possibly due to the small size of the sample. This limitation makes the results of this pilot study unrepresentative. Despite this, the data is encouraging. It is to be hoped that, in carrying out this same experiment with a larger sample, the results will be significant. In addition, 11 of the cognitive abilities studied are significant when applying less restrictive criteria (P <. 05 and P <. 1). This leads us to think that CogniFit can be a good tool for training cognitive abilities of people with intellectual disabilities or developmental disabilities.

Patient #141

Cate Brown

catebrown@mail.com

59 years old

Last activity: 02/01/2016 | 4:09 min

Registration date: 01/01/2013

Total number of logins: 23

Inhibition

598

Focused Attention

608

Auditory Short-term Memory

468

Spatial Perception

405

Set up a new training session

Custom Training

Session length

15 min

Personalized Training

Memory

Concentration

Reasoning

Chemotherapy

55 and Over

Mental Arithmetic

Perception

Insomnia

Darwin Science Institute

Participants: 135

Groups: 24

60 and Over

Control Group

Participants: 11

Add participants

60 and Over

Normal Group

Participants: 11

Add participants

Memory Test

Control Group

Participants: 5

Add participants

Memory Test

Normal Group

Participants: 5

Add participants

Create New Group

Name

Type of group

Control Group

Normal Group

Save

Settings: Manual

Daniel Foster

Memory Test

Control Group

0
Personalized Training
1
Memory
0
Concentration
1
Reasoning
0
Driving
0
55 and Over
0
Perception
0
Stroke
1
Insomnia
1
Mental Arithmetic
2
Delay between training sessions (hours)
General Cognitive Assessment

Number of training regime iterations

5

Send

Student #231

Paul Perkins

DaVinci High School

12 years old | Right handed

ADHD

DaVinci High School

Students: 357

Calculation

Logic

Writing

Reading

Working Memory

565

Naming

411

Visual Perception

355

Visual Short Term Memory

392

Processing Speed

450

Focused Attention

298

ADHD Intervention
Cognitive training
Cognitive Skills
Focused Attention
Spatial Perception
Visual Scanning
Send this training session to Paul Perkins
Strengths
Natural Sciences
Language and Literature
Art

Please type your email address