关于本网站的Cookies

本网站使用Cookie来改善您的在线体验。 通过继续使用本网站而不更改您的Cookie偏好,我们将假定您同意我们使用Cookie。 有关更多信息或更改您的Cookie偏好设置,请访问我们的政策

接受
选择您的平台并购买
免费试用1个月获得10个访问权限。
请选择要创建的账户
现在注册!

请确认该账户是对个人进行的认知评估和培训的个人账户创建一个个人账户,该账户专门用于帮助评估和培训个人的认知技能

请确认认知训练和评估适用于您的患者。 您将创建一个患者管理帐户。 该帐户可以让您的患者能够使用CogniFit评估和培训

请确认该账户是对家人或朋友进行认知评估和培训的家庭账户创建一个家庭账户,该账户专门用于帮助家庭成员进行CogniFit的评估和培训

请确认该账户是对研究参与者进行认知评估和培训的研究账户创建一个研究账户,该账户专门用于帮助研究人员在认知专业领域进行研究

请确认认知训练和评估适用于您的学生您将创建一个学生管理帐户。 该帐户可以让您的学生获得CogniFit评估和培训。

适用于16岁以上的用户。 16岁以下的孩子可以在同一个家庭平台上与父母共同使用CogniFit。

loading

点击登记或使用CogniFit, 则表示你已经阅读,理解并同意 CogniFit的 以及

corporativelanding_STUDY-COGNITIVE-REMEDIATION-GAIT-SENIORS_social_picture

CogniFit改善老年人的流动性

在灵活性和减少失败科学出版物

  • 方便地从平台上为研究人员管理研究患者

  • 为您的研究参与者评估和培训多达23种认知技能

  • 检查并比较参与者的研究数据的认知发展

现在开始
loading

原名Effect of Cognitive Remediation on Gait in Sedentary Seniors.

作者: Joe Verghese1, Jeannette Mahoney1,2, Anne F. Ambrose3, Cuiling Wang4 y Roee Holtzer1,2.

  • 1. 神经科,艾伯特爱因斯坦医学院,Yeshiva大学,布朗克斯,纽约.
  • 2. 费尔考夫心理学院,叶史瓦大学,布朗克斯,纽约.
  • 3. 康复医学系,西奈医疗中心,纽约.
  • 4. 流行病学与人口健康系,阿尔伯特爱因斯坦医学院,叶史瓦大学,布朗克斯,纽约.

杂志: 老年学杂志: 医药科学 (2010) 65A(12): 1338-1343.

参考本文(APA风格)

  • Verghese, J., Mahoney, J., Ambrose, AF., Wang, C., & Holtzer, R. (2010). Effect of cognitive remediation on gait in sedentary seniors. J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci., 65(12), pp.1338-43.

结论

CogniFit认知训练能够通过为期8周的干预,每周3次的非连续日,每天两次训练来改善久坐不动的老年人的活动能力。 步调的移动性(变化:8.2±11.4-1.3±6.8 cm / s,p = .10)和谈话时的步调(变化:19.9±14.9-2.5±20.1 cm / s,p = .05)与控制组相比。

研究总结

灵活性问题随着年龄的增长而增加,对人们的生活质量产生不利影响。 一些认知技能,如注意力执行能力在调节灵活性方面非常重要。 事实上,这些缺陷认知技能 已被发现与老年人的走路速度慢和会跌倒密切相关。由于这个原因,建议这样做认知训练 可以提高步行速度,减少跌倒在老年人口中。

随机对照设计适用于24名久坐不运动的老年人。这些人中没有一个人每周锻炼超过一次,并以每秒不到一米(<1米/秒)的速度行走。 他们被随机分配到“等待名单”组或为期八周的CogniFit认知培训计划组。结果分为正常行走时的速度“同时走路和说话”. 他还比较了每个组中有所改善的人的比例。 这种改进应包括大于或等于每秒4厘米(≥4cm/ s)的速度变化。

结果显示,使用CogniFit进行的认知训练可以改善久坐不动的老年人的活动能力。 该信息证明了CogniFit工具在加强和激发与步态相关的认知能力方面的有效性。

情景

老龄化期间的灵活性问题增加。 患有这些困难的人倾向于在较短的时间内进行社交,享受较低的生活质量,但具有较高的发病率和死亡率。 有充分的科学证据证明体育锻炼的好处,例如散步,以避免行动不便。 尽管如此,在前三到六个月内,有一半的老年人倾向于退出体育锻炼计划。 这解释了需要探索其他方法来改善这一类人群的灵活性

人们的行为,例如步行(步调),受到一系列认知能力的调节,例如注意力和执行功能。 这使我们能够适应不断变化的情况,预测结果并提供资源,同时开展多项活动。 对于正确的步调所有的这些都是必要的。 事实上,注意力问题和执行功能与跌倒和步调缓慢相关

一些研究发现,对这些认知能力的药物治疗对步调有积极作用。 另一方面,已经证明认知训练计划可以改善注意力和执行功能。 尽管如此,还未研究认知训练如何影响步调,这可能是防止移动问题的良好补充。

CogniFit 是一个在线工具 针对评估 和认知训练的 已经证明它可以有效地测量和激发不同的认知能力,例如注意力和执行功能。 设计的简单性意味着CogniFit可以被年轻人和老年人使用。 由于这些原因,它是进行这项研究的理想工具。

因此,本研究的目标是发现CogniFit的计算机化认知训练如何影响正常的步行速度以及行走的同时可以说话的能力。

方法

招聘和设计

为了进行研究,选择随机设计分为两组:实验“认知训练”组和“等待名单”对照组。

最开始发送信件给70岁或以上的人,解释了研究的目的。 在此之后,通过电话联系潜在的参与者。 一旦获得口头同意,就进行一段小的谈话,以确定他们是否符合研究的纳入标准。 符合研究标准的45人被邀请到研究中心进行更精确的测试。

面对面测试包括 MMSE (微型精神状态测试) 的认知评估和步调评估。在这一过程中, 21名参与者因不符合列入标准而被淘汰:

  • 年龄在70岁或以上。
  • 完成研究的可用性和承诺。
  • 久坐 (每周锻炼一次或更少)。
  • 行走慢 (<1.0m/s)
  • 无痴呆 (没有老年痴呆症的临床诊断, 手机筛查评分≥5分, MMSE 有≥25分)。
  • 独立移动 (行走) 的能力。
  • 在过去三个月里, 没有因严重疾病、手术住院, 也没有严重神经或精神疾病史。
  • 没有正在参加任何其他研究。

满足这些标准的24个人以随机方式平均分为两组。 他们都给了书面同意。 此外,他们不会获得任何报酬,但是会提供了参加所有会议的交通方式。

实验组或认知训练

在实验小组中, 第一次培训课程包括向参与者解释如何使用计算机的基础知识, 因为每12个人中只有2个人经常使用计算机。开始对 CogniFit 进行初步评估, 评估持续约45分钟。这种评估允许工具根据他们的弱点或强项调整任务的难度。计算机化的培训课程包括两个 CogniFit 培训周期。每次训练持续 15-20分钟, 包括三项任务。他们每周三次进行45-60分钟的认知训练, 为期 8周 (总共 72次), 每次训练之间至少有一个休息日。参与者参加了99.2% 的训练。

控制组或等待名单

对照组的参与者被告知他们正在等待未来的研究,他们并没有意识到实验组的存在。 他们会参加一个初步的健康教育会议,强调了体育锻炼的好处。 为了保持对实验的兴趣和持续,他们通过电话联系并询问他们是否锻炼了,尽管他们没有在家接受任何治疗。

测量的变量:

进行之前评估的人和经过8周的认知干预后,他们并不知道每个参与者是属于哪个组的。 他们的步行速度使用计算机化网关(GAITRite)测量。 所有参与者都被要求穿舒适的鞋子和保持安静,在光线充足的走廊的地毯上散步。

其他变量:

  • 在为期八周的干预结束时, MMSE 被重新使用。
  • 在实验组中, 还测量了处理速度, 用来测量所训练的学习效果和认知过程的改善。
  • 参与者关于相关疾病存在情况的自我报告被用来计算发病率。
  • 最后, 所有参与者都接受了体育活动测验, 并量化他们在过去一周里花在适度锻炼上的时间。

分析:

  • 所有分析都是使用 SAS 9.1 进行的。
  • 为了比较这两组之间和每个群体内部的人口特征和其他基线信息, 都使用了描述性统计数据。
  • 采用混合线性模型对治疗前后步调速度的不同, 无论是在正常步调上还是在说话和同时行走上, 都进行了测试。
  • 还采用混合线性模型对实验组干预后处理速度的变化进行了比较。
  • 所有模型都根据年龄和性别进行了调整。
.

结果和结论

研究结果表明步调速度 实验组参与者 (有认知训练) 在两种情况下 (正常行走和说话时) 的步态速度均大于初始评估。此外,实验组参与者的行走速度高于对照组。

因此, 我们可以肯定的是, Cognifit 认知训练可以改善久坐不动老人的行动能力。这为减少老年人的行动能力问题打开了一个非常重要的干预之门。这类干预措施有助于防止行动能力问题, 避免未能通过体育锻炼实施预防方案的老年人的生活质量下降。

请输入你的电子邮件地址

About Cookies on this site

This site uses Cookies to improve your online experience. By continuing to use this site without changing your cookie preferences we will assume that you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, or to change your cookie preferences, visit our cookie policy.

Accept
Choose your platform and buy
Try if one month free of charge with 10 licenses.
What is the account for?
Sign Up!

Confirm that the use of assessments and training is for yourselfYou are going to create a personal account. This type of account is specially designed to help you evaluate and train your cognitive skills

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for your patients. You are going to create a patient management account. This account is specially designed to help health professionals (doctors, psychologists, etc.) with the diagnosis, and intervention of cognitive disorders.

Confirm that you want to offer training and/or cognitive assessments to your family or friends.You are going to create a family account. This account is designed to give your family members access to CogniFit evaluations and training.

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for research study participants.You are going to create a research account. This account is specially designed to help researchers with their studies in the cognitive areas.

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for your students.You are going to create a student management account. This account is designed to assist in the diagnosis and intervention of cognitive disorders in children and young students.

For users 16 years and older. Children under 16 can use CogniFit with a parent on one of the other platforms.

loading

By clicking Sign Up or using CogniFit, you are indicating that you have read, understood, and agree to CogniFit's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

corporativelanding_STUDY-COGNITIVE-REMEDIATION-GAIT-SENIORS_social_picture

CogniFit Improved Mobility in the Elderly

Scientific publication on mobility and fall reduction

  • Conveniently manage research patients from the platform for researchers

  • Evaluate and train up to 23 cognitive skills for your study participants

  • Check and compare participants' cognitive development for your study data

Start Now
loading

Original Name:Effect of Cognitive Remediation on Gait in Sedentary Seniors.

Authors: Joe Verghese1, Jeannette Mahoney1,2, Anne F. Ambrose3, Cuiling Wang4 y Roee Holtzer1,2.

  • 1. Department of Neurology, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Yeshiva University, Bronx, New York.
  • 2. Ferkauf School of Psychology, Yeshiva University, Bronx, New York.
  • 3. Department of Rehabilitation Medicine, Mt. Sinai Medical Center, New York.
  • 4. Department of Epidemiology and Population Health, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Yeshiva University, Bronx, New York.

Journal: Journal of Gerontoly: MEDICAL SCIENCES (2010) 65A(12): 1338-1343.

References to this article (APA style):

  • Verghese, J., Mahoney, J., Ambrose, AF., Wang, C., & Holtzer, R. (2010). Effect of cognitive remediation on gait in sedentary seniors. J Gerontol A Biol Sci Med Sci., 65(12), pp.1338-43.

Conclusion

CogniFit cognitive training has been able to improve mobility in sedentary elderly people through an 8-week intervention, 3 non-consecutive days per week, with two training sessions each day. Mobility during gait (change: 8.2 ± 11.4-1.3 ± 6.8 cm/s, p =. 10) and during gait while talking (change: 19.9 ± 14.9-2.5 ± 20.1 cm/s, p =. 05) compared to the control group.

Study summary

Mobility problems increase with age and adversely affect people's quality of life. Some cognitive skills such as attention and executive functions are very important in regulating mobility. In fact, a malfunction of these cognitive skills has been found to be closely related to slow walking and falls in older people. For this reason, it is proposed that elcognitive training may improve walking speed and reduce falls in the elderly.

A blind randomized control design was applied to 24 sedentary elders . None of these people exercised more than once a week and walked at a rate of less than one metre per second (<1m/s). They were randomly assigned to the "waiting list" group or the eight-week CogniFit cognitive training program group. The results were divided intospeed during normal walking and in the condition of "walking and speaking simultaneously" . The proportion of people who had improved in each group was also compared. This improvement should consist of a speed change greater than or equal to four centimetres per second (≥4cm/s).

The results showed that cognitive training with CogniFit improves mobility in sedentary elders. This information demonstrates the usefulness of CogniFit's tool for strengthening and stimulating cognitive abilities related to gait.

Context

Mobility problems increase during aging. People with these difficulties tend to socialize for a shorter period of time, enjoy a lower quality of life, and have higher rates of morbidity and mortality. There is ample scientific evidence about the benefits of physical exercise, such as walking, to prevent mobility problems. Despite this, half of the seniors tend to drop out of physical exercise programs in the first three to six months. This explains the need to explore other approaches to improve the mobility of this population .

People's behavior, such as walking (gait), is regulated by a range of cognitive abilities, such as attention and executive functions. These allow us to adapt to changing situations, anticipate results and provide the resources to carry out more than one activity at the same time. All of this is necessary for a correct gait. In fact, attention problems and in executive functions are associated with falls and a slow gait.

Some studies have found that medication therapy for these cognitive abilities has a positive effect on gait. On the other hand, it has been shown that cognitive training programs can improve both attention and executive functions. Despite this, it has not been studied how cognitive training affects gait, which could be a good complement to prevent mobility problems.

CogniFit is an online tool of evaluation and cognitive training that has proven its validity to measure and stimulate different cognitive abilities, such as attention and executive functions. The simplicity of the design means that CogniFit can be used by young and old alike. For these reasons, it is the ideal tool to carry out this study.

Therefore, the objective of this study is to discover how CogniFit's computerized cognitive training can affect normal walking speed and the ability to walk and talk at the same time.

Methodology

Recruitment and design

To conduct the study, a randomized blind control design was chosen divided into two groups: the experimental "Cognitive Training" group and the "Waiting List" control group.

Letters were initially sent to people aged 70 or older explaining the purpose of the study. After this, potential participants were contacted by phone. Once verbal consent was given, a small interview was conducted to determine whether they met the inclusion criteria for the study. The 45 people who fit the study criteria were invited to the research center for more precise testing.

In-person testing consisted of a cognitive assessment with the MMSE (Mini-Mental State Examination) and a gait assessment. In this process, 21 participants were eliminated for failing to meet the inclusion criteria:

  • Be 70 years of age or older.
  • Availability and commitment to complete the study.
  • Be sedentary (exercise once a week or less).
  • Slow gait (<1.0m/s).
  • Absence of dementia ( no clinical diagnosis of dementia, with a ≥5 score on phone screening and a ≥25 score on the MMSE).
  • Ability to move independently (walk).
  • Have not been hospitalized in the last three months for severe illness, surgery, and no history of serious neurological or psychiatric illness.
  • Not participating in any other studies.

The 24 people meeting these criteria were divided equally into the two groups in a randomized fashion. All of them gave written consent. In addition, they did not receive any financial contribution but were provided with transportation to attend all sessions.

Experimental Group o Cognitive Training

In the experimental group, the first training session consisted of explaining to the participants the basics of how to use the computer, as only 2 out of 12 people used the computer regularly. The initial evaluation of CogniFit, which lasts approximately 45 minutes, was started. This evaluation allows the tool to adjust the difficulty of the tasks according to their weak or strong points. Computerized training sessions consisted of two CogniFit training cycles . Each training cycle lasted 15-20 minutes and consisted of three tasks. They did cognitive training for 45-60 minutes three times a week for 8 weeks (72 sessions in total) with at least one rest day between each session. Participants attended 99.2% of the sessions.

CogniFit Intervention: Researchers Platform

CogniFit has a platform designed exclusively to manage investigations easily and conveniently. To create a free account, just follow the steps below. This investigators' account helps:

  • Manage participants and the tests that will be applied to measure and/or train their cognitive functions.
  • Collect the participants' data and monitor cognitive progress.
  • To carry out experimental studies on the effects of cognitive stimulation through computer programs.
  • Design research with training for specific cognitive areas.

NT

Once we are logged in, we will be able to purchase licenses for Evaluations, Trainings or both. The CogniFit tool has 9 different evaluations and 15 different training programs.

NT

CogniFit has two main products that allow us to measure and trains all the cognitive skills which are widely supported by previous scientific research:

  • Evaluations: Through 18 different tasks we can evaluate more than 20 cognitive abilities in a precise way. This allows us to create a full profile of the participant's current cognitive status. The complete assessment is the General Assessment (CAB), but CogniFit also offers more specific assessment batteries: for Depression, Parkinson, Dyslexia At the beginning of each task, the participant will be explained interactively what to do.
  • Training: With more than 30 training gamesit is possible to stimulate all the cognitive skills that we train at CogniFit. The customized brain training allows us to strengthen our cognitive abilities in an entertaining and comfortable way, although CogniFit also offers specific training. The games include an interactive explanation so that participants can easily understand their role. Each training session, which consists of three activities, lasts approximately 15-20 minutes. In addition, the tool automatically adapts the difficulty of the activities to the participants' level. We will also have the option to indicate the number of hours that we want each participant to rest between each training sessions.

When we have chosen the evaluations and training that interest us, we can invite our participants, assign them a group and activities that they will have to do. Participants will receive an invitation in their email and will only need to create an account as a normal user and accept that we researchers can see their results.

NT

From our researchers' platform, we will be able to observe the activity of our participants, see the profiles or cognitive progress and export the study data. We'll be able to access different data:

NT
  • The individual state of the cognitive skills
NT
  • A graphic with the general evolution of the participant's cognitive progress, or each of the cognitive abilities independently.
.
NT

Control Group o Waiting List

Participants in the control group were told that they were on a waiting list for a future study, they were unaware of the experimental group's existence. They attended an initial health education session highlighting the benefits of physical exercise. To maintain interest and adherence to the experiment, they were contacted by phone and asked if they exercised, although they did not receive any treatment from home.

Variables measured:

The person who undertook the previous assessments and after eight weeks of cognitive intervention they did not know which group each participant belonged to. Their gait speed was measured using a computerized gateway (GAITRite). All participants were asked to take a walk on a carpet with comfortable shoes and in a quiet, well-lit corridor.

Other variables:

  • At the end of the eight-week intervention, the MMSE was re-applied.
  • In the experimental group, the processing speed was also measured in order to measure the learning effect and the transference of the cognitive processes trained.
  • The participants' self-reports on the presence of relevant diseases were used to calculate a morbidity rate.
  • Finally, all participants were given a physical activity quiz to quantify the amount of time they had spent on moderate exercise over the past week.

Analysis:

  • All analyses were performed using SAS 9.1.
  • To compare demographic characteristics and other baseline information between the two groups and within each group, descriptive statistics were used.
  • The differences between the means of the gait speed before and after treatment, both in normal gait and in speech and walking simultaneously, were tested using mixed linear models.
  • A mixed linear model was also used to compare changes in the processing speed of the experimental group after the intervention.
  • All models were adjusted for age and sex.
.

Results and Conclusions

The study results indicated that the gait speedof experimental group participants (with cognitive training) in both conditions (normal walking and walking while talking) was greater after the intervention than in the initial assessment. In addition, the gait speed was higher in participants in the experimental group than in the control group.

Therefore, we can affirm that CogniFit cognitive training can improve mobility in sedentary elders . This opens a very important intervention door to reduce mobility problems in seniors. This type of intervention could help prevent mobility problems, avoiding deterioration in the quality of life of seniors who do not manage to carry out prevention programs through physical exercise.

Patient #141

Cate Brown

catebrown@mail.com

59 years old

Last activity: 02/01/2016 | 4:09 min

Registration date: 01/01/2013

Total number of logins: 23

Inhibition

598

Focused Attention

608

Auditory Short-term Memory

468

Spatial Perception

405

Set up a new training session

Custom Training

Session length

15 min

Personalized Training

Memory

Concentration

Mental Planning

Chemotherapy

55 and Over

Mental Arithmetic

Spatial perception

Insomnia

Darwin Science Institute

Participants: 135

Groups: 24

60 and Over

Control Group

Participants: 11

Add participants

60 and Over

Normal Group

Participants: 11

Add participants

Memory Test

Control Group

Participants: 5

Add participants

Memory Test

Normal Group

Participants: 5

Add participants

Create New Group

Name

Type of group

Control Group

Normal Group

Save

Settings: Manual

Daniel Foster

Memory Test

Control Group

0
Personalized Training
1
Memory
0
Concentration
1
Mental Planning
0
Driving Focus
0
55 and Over
0
Spatial perception
0
Stroke
1
Insomnia
1
Mental Arithmetic
2
Delay between training sessions (hours)
General Cognitive Assessment

Number of training regime iterations

5

Send

Student #231

Paul Perkins

DaVinci High School

12 years old | Right handed

ADHD

DaVinci High School

Students: 357

Calculation

Logic

Writing

Reading

Working Memory

565

Naming

411

Visual Perception

355

Visual Short Term Memory

392

Processing Speed

450

Focused Attention

298

ADHD Intervention
Cognitive training
Cognitive Skills
Focused Attention
Spatial Perception
Visual Scanning
Send this training session to Paul Perkins
Strengths
Natural Sciences
Language and Literature
Art

Please type your email address