关于本网站的Cookies

本网站使用Cookie来改善您的在线体验。 通过继续使用本网站而不更改您的Cookie偏好,我们将假定您同意我们使用Cookie。 有关更多信息或更改您的Cookie偏好设置,请访问我们的政策

接受
选择您的平台并购买
免费试用1个月获得10个访问权限。
请选择要创建的账户
现在注册!

请确认该账户是对个人进行的认知评估和培训的个人账户创建一个个人账户,该账户专门用于帮助评估和培训个人的认知技能

请确认认知训练和评估适用于您的患者。 您将创建一个患者管理帐户。 该帐户可以让您的患者能够使用CogniFit评估和培训

请确认该账户是对家人或朋友进行认知评估和培训的家庭账户创建一个家庭账户,该账户专门用于帮助家庭成员进行CogniFit的评估和培训

请确认该账户是对研究参与者进行认知评估和培训的研究账户创建一个研究账户,该账户专门用于帮助研究人员在认知专业领域进行研究

请确认认知训练和评估适用于您的学生您将创建一个学生管理帐户。 该帐户可以让您的学生获得CogniFit评估和培训。

适用于16岁以上的用户。 16岁以下的孩子可以在同一个家庭平台上与父母共同使用CogniFit。

loading

点击登记或使用CogniFit, 则表示你已经阅读,理解并同意 CogniFit的 以及

corporativelanding_STUDY-COGNITIVE-TRAINING-INSOMNIA-OLDER_social_picture

CogniFit改善了失眠的老年人的睡眠质量

通过认知训练提高睡眠质量的科学出版物

此页面仅供参考。 我们不出售任何可以治疗疾病的产品。 CogniFit用于治疗疾病的产品目前正在验证过程中。 如果您感兴趣,请访问CogniFit研究平台
  • 方便地从平台上为研究人员管理研究患者

  • 为您的研究参与者评估和培训多达23种认知技能

  • 检查并比较参与者的研究数据的认知发展

现在开始
loading

原始名称Cognitive Training Improves Sleep Quality and Cognitive Function among Older Adults with Insomnia.

作者 Iris Haimov 1, Evelyn Shatil 1,2。

  • 1。 Yezreel学院心理学系和心理生物学研究中心,Emek Yezreel,以色列。
  • 2。 CogniFit Inc.,纽约,纽约,美国。

期刊:PloS ONE(2013),vol. 8(4):1-17。

参考文本五年 (APA 格式):

  • Haimov, I., Shatil, E. (2013). Cognitive Training Improves Sleep Quality and Cognitive Function among Older Adults with Insomnia. PLoS ONE, 8 (4), 1-17.

研究结论

CogniFit个性化认知训练已经能够改善失眠的老年人的睡眠质量和认知功能,每天20-30分钟,每周不连续的三天,持续进行8周。睡眠时间:38.42±40.58 到 24.76±32.32 分钟 (p=. 001);睡眠效率: 73.54±12.56 到 80.28±13.78% (p=. 001); 总睡眠时间: 296.37±78.07 到 310.44±72.96 分钟; 清醒时间: 72.06±40.89 到 58.89±45 记忆: F=15.65±1.35 (p=. 001); 视觉记忆: F=14.03±1.35 (p=. 001); 工作记忆: F=13.92±1.35) (p=. 001)

研究摘要

鉴于老年人失眠的发生率很高,本研究可以帮助了解计算机化认知训练对该人群睡眠质量和认知状态的影响。

共有51名年龄超过65岁至85岁的老年人被随机分为实验组(进行认知训练)和对照组(未进行认知训练)。实验组使用他们自己的计算机在他们各自的家中进行了8周的CogniFit个性化认知训练。 另一方面,对照组开展了一项计算机化的活动计划,该计划并不应用于8周的高级认知功能。在训练之前和之后用CogniFit测量这些参与者的认知状态。 此外,还监测睡眠前后一周。 并考虑到了不同的结果:

  • 睡眠质量:该人入睡的时间以及他或她睡着的时间百分比(睡眠效率)。
  • 认知状态:能够避免分心,工作记忆,视觉记忆,一般记忆和面值。

统计分析表明了一些有趣的数据

  • 更好的 视觉扫描能力更早的进入睡眠有关。
  • 更好的 命名能力 与开始睡眠后较少的醒来有关。
  • 避免分心的能力增强与更长的睡眠时间有关。
  • 对照组显示更糟 工作记忆入睡所需时间的增加有关。

结果表明,在开始和保持睡眠时,新的学习是必不可少的 CogniFit认知个性化培训可以帮助创建改善睡眠和认知状态所需的学习类型

情景

20%至50%的老年人患有失眠,女性比男性更常见。 这种疾病与睡眠结构的变化有关(波段睡眠时间减少,REM睡眠时间减少,δ波振幅减少,活动减少,REM睡眠密度和心轴)。 这导致睡眠分散并且难以入睡。 这种失眠的原因可以变化。 然而,这种疾病最常见的治疗方法是药理学

随着年龄的增长,除了睡眠问题外,通常会出现某种程度的认知退化,这会影响处理速度,感知,执行功能,集中注意力,注意力,抑制和记忆力。 失眠的老人往往比没有睡眠问题的老年人有更大的恶化模式,例如情景记忆问题,注意力分配等。幸运的是,已经证明失眠的人可以从以下活动中受益:

  • 旨在恢复认知能力的认知训练。
  • 获得新的视觉和口头学习。

另一方面,近年来的证据表明,睡眠是巩固记忆的必要条件。 这是因为睡眠得益于突触的可塑性,促进程序学习过程, 促进陈述性记忆的巩固,并在获取新记忆中发挥关键作用。 反之,已经观察到获得新学习能力对睡眠架构具有积极影响。 学习后,REM睡眠比率增加,在此阶段快速眼球运动增加,慢波活动增加,睡眠阶段2的持续时间增加,以及睡眠轴数量和密度增加。

有了这一切,可以合理地假设从适当的认知训练中获得的新学习可以帮助:

  • 改变睡眠架构。
  • 改善睡眠质量。
  • 改善认知状态。

方法

研究设计

一项为期11周的随机对照临床试验在独立老年失眠患者中进行,采用两组设计: CogniFit干预(实验组)和非特异性干预( 控制组)。

在开始训练之前进行参与者的认知测量,在训练结束时进行另一次认知测量。 为此,使用了 CogniFit 评估系统 。 一位研究助理来到参与者家,注册CogniFit平台。 专员每两周会致电一次参与者,鼓励他们坚持治疗。

参与者

参加者通过在老人中心的广告和演讲联系。他们都是长者且会抱怨每周至少三个晚上进入或保持睡眠的问题。至少六个月前他们的睡眠质量也很差。 如果MMSE(迷你精神状态检查)得分<26,ZSDS(Zung自评抑郁量表)得分>40,关于焦虑的小问卷得分>60,则排除患者。 研究中还排除了那些患有严重视力或听力问题,相关医学或神经系统疾病,酗酒或其他物质问题的患者,精神疾病,睡眠呼吸暂停,散发性腿部运动综合征以及使用影响中枢神经系统的药物的患者。 (用于睡眠的除外)。

控制组干预

对照组接受了为期8周的培训计划,与CogniFit不同,培训计划没有培养任何特定的认知能力,不符合参与者的表现,也没有提供任何反馈。 他们只需做一些简单的,计算机化的阅读和绘画任务

测量变量:

CogniFit用于评估17种认知技能。 此外,通过放置在参与者手腕上的设备,还测量了其他变量:

  • 总睡眠时间:从他们上床睡觉到起床。
  • 睡眠潜伏期:他们上床睡觉后入睡的时间。
  • 睡眠效率:睡眠时间相对于卧床时间的百分比。
  • 自睡眠开始后的醒来的时间:初次入睡后的醒来的时间。
  • 醒来次数:自从他们第一次入睡以来醒来的时间。

分析:

SPSS 19用于进行统计分析。 为了评估两组之间五种睡眠变量和不同认知能力的差异,混合效应模型用于重复测量,每个变量有一个模型。 还计算了皮尔森的相关时间和分层回归分析,以确定认知改善与睡眠质量改善之间是否存在关联。

结果和结论

在实验组的命名能力睡眠效率之间检测到相关性,从睡眠开始醒来的时间和次数。 总睡眠时间避免分心的能力相关。另一方面,对睡眠开始的认识视觉扫描也存在显著相关性。在对照组的情况下,在入睡时间工作记忆,视觉记忆和记忆之间检测到负相关。 剩余的认知能力与睡眠参数无显著相关性。

简而言之,除了认知能力之外,可以得出结论 CogniFit认知训练可以改善睡眠的开始和维持。 这种类型的治疗可以是用于治疗失眠的当前药物治疗的替代品或良好补充。

请输入你的电子邮件地址

About Cookies on this site

This site uses Cookies to improve your online experience. By continuing to use this site without changing your cookie preferences we will assume that you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, or to change your cookie preferences, visit our cookie policy.

Accept
Choose your platform and buy
Try if one month free of charge with 10 licenses.
What is the account for?
Sign Up!

Confirm that the use of assessments and training is for yourselfYou are going to create a personal account. This type of account is specially designed to help you evaluate and train your cognitive skills

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for your patients. You are going to create a patient management account. This account is specially designed to help health professionals (doctors, psychologists, etc.) with the diagnosis, and intervention of cognitive disorders.

Confirm that you want to offer training and/or cognitive assessments to your family or friends.You are going to create a family account. This account is designed to give your family members access to CogniFit evaluations and training.

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for research study participants.You are going to create a research account. This account is specially designed to help researchers with their studies in the cognitive areas.

Please confirm that the use of cognitive training and assessment is for your students.You are going to create a student management account. This account is designed to assist in the diagnosis and intervention of cognitive disorders in children and young students.

For users 16 years and older. Children under 16 can use CogniFit with a parent on one of the other platforms.

loading

By clicking Sign Up or using CogniFit, you are indicating that you have read, understood, and agree to CogniFit's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

corporativelanding_STUDY-COGNITIVE-TRAINING-INSOMNIA-OLDER_social_picture

CogniFit has improved sleep quality in older people with insomnia

Scientific publication on improving sleep quality through cognitive training

  • Conveniently manage research patients from the platform for researchers

  • Evaluate and train up to 23 cognitive skills for your study participants

  • Check and compare participants' cognitive development for your study data

Start Now
loading

Original Name:Cognitive Training Improves Sleep Quality and Cognitive Function among Older Adults with Insomnia.

Authors: Iris Haimov1, Evelyn Shatil1,2.

  • 1. Department of Psychology and the Center for Psychobiological Research, Yezreel Academic College, Emek Yezreel, Israel.
  • 2. CogniFit Inc., New York, New York, United States of America.

Journal: PloS ONE (2013), vol. 8 (4): 1-17.

References to this article (APA style):

  • Haimov, I., Shatil, E. (2013). Cognitive Training Improves Sleep Quality and Cognitive Function among Older Adults with Insomnia. PLoS ONE, 8 (4), 1-17.

Study Conclusion

CogniFit personalized cognitive training has been able to improve sleep quality and cognitive function in older adults with insomnia through 20-30 minutes a day, three non-consecutive days a week, for 8 weeks. Sleeping time: 38.42±40.58 to 24.76±32.32 minutes (p=. 001); Sleeping efficiency: 73.54±12.56 to 80.28±13.78% (p=. 001); Total sleep time: 296.37±78.07 to 310.44±72.96 minutes; Awakening time: 72.06±40.89 to 58.89±45 Memory: F=15.65±1.35 (p=. 001); Visual memory: F=14.03±1.35 (p=. 001); Working memory: F=13.92±1.35) (p=. 001)

Study summary

Given the high incidence of insomnia in older people, this study aimed to learn about the effects of computerized cognitive training on sleep quality and cognitive status in this population.

A total of 51 older adults over 65 to 85 years old were randomly divided into the experimental group (which performed cognitive training) and the control group (which did not). The experimental group performed CogniFit personalized cognitive training for 8 weeks from their respective homes, using their own computer. The control group, on the other hand, carried out a computerized program of activities that did not imply high-level cognitive functioning for 8 weeks. Cognitive status of these participants was measured with CogniFit before and after training. In addition, sleep was also monitored for a week before and after. Different results were taken into account:

  • Sleep quality: Time it took the person to fall asleep and the percentage of the time he or she was asleep (sleeping efficiency).
  • Cognitive state: Ability to avoid distractions, working memory, visual memory, general memory and denomination.
.

Statistical analyses indicated some interesting data:

  • A better visual scanning is related to an earliest onset of sleep.
  • A better naming is related to a smaller number of awakeningsafter initiating sleep.
  • Increased capacity to avoid distractionswas related to a longer sleep duration.
  • The control group showed that worse working memory is associated with a a rise in the time needed to fall asleep
.

The results indicate that new learning is essential when initiating and maintaining sleep in the elderly with insomnia. CogniFit cognitive personalized training can help create the type of learning that is needed to bring about improvements in sleep and cognitive status.

Context

Between 20 and 50% of elderly people suffer from insomnia, being more common in women than men. This disorder is related to changes in sleep architecture (less time in slow wave sleep, less REM sleep time, less delta wave amplitude, decreased activity, REM sleep density, and spindles). This results in a fragmented sleep and a greater difficulty to fall asleep. The causes of this type of insomnia can be varied. However, the most common treatment for this disorder is pharmacological.

With age, apart from sleep problems, some degree of cognitive deterioration usually appears, which can affect processing speed, perception, executive functioning, concentration, attention, inhibition, and memory. Elders with insomnia tend to have greater deterioration patterns than those without sleep problems, such as episodic memory problems, distractibility, etc. Fortunately, it has been shown that people with insomnia can benefit from some activities such as:

  • Cognitive training aimed at rehabilitating cognitive abilities.
  • Acquisition of new visual and verbal learning.

On the other hand, evidence from recent years has shown that sleep is necessary for memory consolidation. This is due to the fact that sleep favors synaptic plasticity, promotes procedural learning processes, facilitates the consolidation of declarative memory, and plays a crucial role in the acquisition of new memories. In the opposite sense, it has been observed that acquisition of new learning has positive effects on the sleep architecture. After learning, the REM sleep ratio increases, rapid eye movements increase during this phase, slow wave activity increases, the duration of sleep Phase 2 increases, as well as the number and density of sleep spindles.

With all this, it is reasonable to suppose that the new learning derived from an appropriate cognitive training can help:

  • Change sleep architecture.
  • Improve sleep quality.
  • Improve cognitive state.
.

Methodology

Study Design

An 11-week randomised controlled clinical trial was conducted in independent elderly people with insomnia using a two-group design: CogniFit intervention (experimental group) and non-specific intervention (control group).

A cognitive measurement of the participants was performed before starting the training and another at the end of the training. For this purpose, the CogniFit Assessment Battery was used. A research assistant came to the participants' house to register to the CogniFit platform. Attendees called the participants every two weeks to encourage adherence to the treatment.

Participants

Participants were contacted through advertisements and speeches in senior centers. They were all elders complaining about problems initiating or maintaining sleep at least three nights a week. They also had to have poor sleep quality from at least six months ago. Patients were excluded if they had a score of <26 on the MMSE (Mini-mental state examination), a score of >40 on the ZSDS (Zung Self-rating Depression Scale) and a score of >60 on a small anxiety questionnaire. Also excluded from the study were those patients with significant vision or hearing problems, relevant medical or neurological illnesses, those with alcoholism or other substance problems, psychiatric disorders, sleep apnea, sporadic leg movement syndrome, and those using medications that affected the central nervous system (except those used for sleeping).

CogniFit Intervention: Researchers Platform

The experimental group conducted the intervention for 8 weeks using CogniFit's Personalized Cognitive Training. CogniFit is a cognitive assessment and training tool with qualities that make it ideal for both conducting research and stimulating participants' cognitive abilities.

  • Online and in 18 languages it is accessible to anyone. This made it possible for participants to train from their own homes.
  • CogniFit allows personalized cognitive training. This means that the type of activity and difficulty of this is constantly adapted to the needs of each participant. It measures the performance in each session, which detects the strengths and weaknesses of each participant and programs automatically the best training plan. This makes it unlikely that two participants will do exactly the same training.
  • The CogniFit tool is validated by a diversity of scientific studies. This makes it a reliable tool to try to improve the cognitive state of our participants.
  • CogniFit currently has over 30 different tasks and different difficulty levels. In this way, they will be able to train their cognitive abilities at the appropriate level to be challenging, but without being frustrating.
  • It also provides feedback after each session, so that participants will be able to know what their strengths and weaknesses are and focus on them.
.

Thanks to CogniFit's researchers platform we can comfortably manage participant information. To create a free account just follow the steps below. The researchers account allows:

  • Invite and regulate participants' activities, as well as the tests that will be applied to measure and/or train their cognitive functions.
  • Collect participant data, being able to see the cognitive evolution.
  • Conduct experimental studies on the effects of cognitive stimulation through computer programs.
  • Design research with general or specific training of cognitive areas
.
NT

When we are logged in, we may acquire licenses for evaluations, trainings or both . CogniFit tool has 9 different evaluations and 15 different training programs.

NT

CogniFit has two main products that allow us to measure and trains all the cognitive skills which are widely supported by previous scientific research:

  • Evaluations: Through 18 different tasks we can evaluate more than 20 cognitive abilities in a precise way. This allows us to create a full profile of the participant's current cognitive status. The complete assessment is the General Assessment (CAB), but CogniFit also offers more specific assessment batteries: for Depression, Parkinson, Dyslexia At the beginning of each task, the participant will be explained interactively what to do.
  • Training: With more than 30 training gamesit is possible to stimulate all the cognitive skills that we train at CogniFit. The customized brain training allows us to strengthen our cognitive abilities in an entertaining and comfortable way, although CogniFit also offers specific training. The games include an interactive explanation so that participants can easily understand their role. Each training session, which consists of three activities, lasts approximately 15-20 minutes. In addition, the tool automatically adapts the difficulty of the activities to the participants' level. We will also have the option to indicate the number of hours that we want each participant to rest between each training sessions.

When we have chosen the evaluations and training that interest us, we can invite our participants, assign them a group and activities that they will have to do. Participants will receive an invitation in their email and will only need to create an account as a normal user and accept that we researchers can see their results.

NT

From our researchers' platform, we will be able to observe the activity of our participants, see the profiles or cognitive progress and export the study data. We'll be able to access different data:

  • The five cognitive areas that include all other cognitive skills
NT
  • The individual state of the cognitive skills
NT
  • A graphic with the general evolution of the participant's cognitive progress, or each of the cognitive abilities independently.
.
NT

Group Control Intervention

The control group received an 8-week training program that, unlike CogniFit, did not train any particular cognitive abilities, did not fit the participants' performance and did not provide any feedback. They only had to do a few simple, computerized reading and painting tasks.

Variables measured:

CogniFit was used to evaluate 17 cognitive skills. In addition, by means of a device placed on the participants' wrist, other variables were also measured:

  • Total time of sleep: From the time they went to bed until they got up.
  • Sleep onset latency: Time it took them to fall asleep since they went to bed.
  • Sleep Efficiency: Percentage of sleep time in relation to the time spent in bed.
  • Wake-up time since the beginning of sleep: Wake-up time after initially falling asleep.
  • Number of awakenings: Times they woke up since they first fell asleep.

Analysis:

The SPSS 19 was used to conduct statistical analysis. To assess differences in the five sleep variables and different cognitive abilities between the two groups, mixed-effect models were used for repeated measures, with one model for each variable. Pearson's correlation timing and a hierarchical regression analysis were also calculated to see if there was a relationship between cognitive improvements and improvements in sleep quality.

Results and conclusions

A correlation was detected between the experimental group's naming capacity and sleep efficiency, waking time from the beginning of sleep and the number of awakenings. The total sleep time correlated with the capacity of avoiding distractions. On the other hand, there was also a significant correlation in awareness of the onset of sleep and visual scanning. In the case of the control group, a negative correlation was detected between time it took to fall asleep and working memory, visual memory and memory in general. The remaining cognitive abilities showed no significant correlation with sleep parameters.

In short, it can be concluded that CogniFit cognitive training can improve the onset and maintenance of sleep, in addition to cognitive capabilities. This type of therapy can be an alternative or a good complement to current drug treatments for treating insomnia.

Patient #141

Cate Brown

catebrown@mail.com

59 years old

Last activity: 02/01/2016 | 4:09 min

Registration date: 01/01/2013

Total number of logins: 23

Inhibition

598

Focused Attention

608

Auditory Short-term Memory

468

Spatial Perception

405

Set up a new training session

Custom Training

Session length

15 min

Personalized Training

Memory

Concentration

Mental Planning

Chemotherapy

55 and Over

Mental Arithmetic

Spatial perception

Insomnia

Darwin Science Institute

Participants: 135

Groups: 24

60 and Over

Control Group

Participants: 11

Add participants

60 and Over

Normal Group

Participants: 11

Add participants

Memory Test

Control Group

Participants: 5

Add participants

Memory Test

Normal Group

Participants: 5

Add participants

Create New Group

Name

Type of group

Control Group

Normal Group

Save

Settings: Manual

Daniel Foster

Memory Test

Control Group

0
Personalized Training
1
Memory
0
Concentration
1
Mental Planning
0
Driving Focus
0
55 and Over
0
Spatial perception
0
Stroke
1
Insomnia
1
Mental Arithmetic
2
Delay between training sessions (hours)
General Cognitive Assessment

Number of training regime iterations

5

Send

Student #231

Paul Perkins

DaVinci High School

12 years old | Right handed

ADHD

DaVinci High School

Students: 357

Calculation

Logic

Writing

Reading

Working Memory

565

Naming

411

Visual Perception

355

Visual Short Term Memory

392

Processing Speed

450

Focused Attention

298

ADHD Intervention
Cognitive training
Cognitive Skills
Focused Attention
Spatial Perception
Visual Scanning
Send this training session to Paul Perkins
Strengths
Natural Sciences
Language and Literature
Art

Please type your email address